When Canada Almost Won the Women’s Hockey World Cup

As Ireland became the 6th team in Women’s Hockey World Cup to enter the final, their road to maiden final is closer to Canada than Australia, West Germany or Argentina. Both won semifinals through shootout. The opposition in Final is also the same, Queen of World Cup who has denied 3 teams already the title in their maiden final. In 1983, Canada surprised all defeating the likes of strong West Germany, Argentina to top the group and then get past Australia in semifinals. But, at the final frontier the Queen of Women’s Hockey World Cup refused to budge despite conceding 2 goals from Canada. Ireland also has its share of history in reaching the final that is much closer to Canada, who reached their maiden final in 1983.

2018 Women’s Hockey World Cup: Schedule and Results
About Women’s Hockey World Cup
List of Women’s Hockey World Cups Winners
Indian Squad for Women’s Hockey World Cup 2018
2018 Women’s Hockey World Cup: Points Table
Summary of Group Stage
Who Will Prevent Repeat of FIFA World Cup 2018

While Argentina, Australia and Germany played the semifinals in previous editions before reaching their maiden final, in 1983 Canada in their third World Cup entered semifinals and then final for the first time. They had finished 5th before in both attempts of 1978 and 1981. Even Ireland entered first semifinal and final in 2018.

Canada’s Journey in Women’s Hockey World Cup 1983
Before 1983, Canada finished 5th on first two appearance. In 1983, they faced 5 teams in Pool B as 12 teams participated. They lost only to New Zealand, drew with England, and won against West Germany, Argentina and Soviet Union to top the group. In semifinals, they shocked Australia 8-5 in penalty shootout after goalless draw during regulation team. But, in the final despite scoring 2 goals, they lost as Netherlands scored 4 goals to clinch their third title in 5th edition.

Ireland’s Journey in Women’s Hockey World Cup 2018
Ireland finished 12th (1986), 11th (1994) and 15th (2002) in their first three appearances. In 2014, placed in a tough group against three higher seeds, England, USA and India they emerged as group topper winning two and losing one to England. In quarterfinals they won a penalty shootout against Indians, defeating them for the second consecutive time in the tournament. In semifinals, they again stretched to the penalty shootout but came out as better team against Spain, who knocked out favorites Germany in quarterfinals through a field goal.

Canada later went on to defeat Netherlands in the next World Cup at Group Stage and finished third in 1986 World Cup, losing the semifinals against West Germany.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.