Women Hockey Medal Winners in Olympics History

London 2012 Hockey final saw Netherland winning their third Olympic Gold and equal Australian record. They won 2-0 against Argentina who were eyeing their first Gold medal in Women’s hockey. Women’s Hockey made its Olympic debut at Moscow Olympics in 1980 which was boycotted by USA and its allies. After finishing 4th in 1980, Indian Women’s team has earned a place in 2016 Olympics.

History of Men’s Hockey in Olympics
2012 Olympics Medal Tally
Daily Medal Winners List of London Olympics
History of Football in Olympics


    Zimbabwe, winner of inaugural edition, is the only country from Africa to have won a medal.
    Australia and Netherlands have won thrice.
    South Korea (twice) and China (once) have won the silver medal for Asia.
    Argentina has won two silver and two Bronze.
    Indian women participated only in 1980 Olympics.

Winners in Every Olympics

    1980 Zimbabwe (Gold), Czechoslovakia (Silver), Soviet Union(Bronze)
    1984 Netherlands (Gold), West Germany (Silver), USA (Bronze)
    1988 Australia (Gold), South Korea (Silver), Netherlands (Bronze)
    1992 Spain (Gold), Germany (Silver), Great Britain (Bronze)
    1996 Australia (Gold), South Korea (Silver), Netherlands (Bronze)
    2000 Australia (Gold), Argentina (Silver), Netherlands (Bronze)
    2004 Germany (Gold), Netherlands (Silver), Argentina (Bronze)
    2008 Netherlands (Gold), China (Silver), Argentina (Bronze)
    2012 Netherlands (Gold), Argentina (Silver), Great Britain (Bronze)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.