Women’s World Boxing Championships: Indians are Overall Third Best

After 2018 World Championships as Indian Women won 4 medals, including World record equalling Gold by Mary Kom, Indian Women boxers are placed third behind Russia and China having won 32 medals, including 9 Gold medals, 7 silver medals and 16 Bronze medals. India’s 6 Gold medals have been won by Mary Kom. She also won a silver in the inaugural Championship of 2001. Beyond her, India had a rich medal crop in 2006 when they hosted the championships as three more women won the Gold medals. Before and after it is more about Bronze medals besides the two silver medals won by Usha Nagisetty (57 kg). Check all the medal winners from India after 2018 Women’s World Boxing Championships.

Indian Women Performance in 2014 World Championships
Indian Women Performance in 2018 World Championships
Indian Women’s Medal Tally

    Gold: 9
    Silver: 7
    Bronze: 16

Multiple Medal Winners

    Mary Kom: 6 Gold and 1 Silver
    Laishram Sarita Devi: 1 Gold, 2 Bronze
    Usha Nagisetty: 2 Silver
    Kavita Chahal: 2 Bronze
    Jyotsana Kumari: 2 Bronze
    Chhotu Loura: 2 Bronze

Indian Finalists in Women’s World Boxing Championships
2001: 48 Kg: Mary Kom lost the final to win India’s First Medal (Silver)

    45 Kg: Mary Kom won India’s First Gold
    Bronze: Meena Kumari (48 Kg)
    Karamjit Kaur (75 Kg)
    Jyotsana (+81 Kg)


    46 Kg: Mary Kom won India’s and her Second Gold
    Bronze: Kalpana Chowdhury (50 Kg)
    Laishram Sarita Devi (54 Kg)
    Chenthittail Aswathimol (70 Kg)
    Jyotsana Kumari (86 Kg)


    Gold: 46 Kg: Mary Kom won her Third Gold
    52 Kg: Laishram Sarita Devi
    63 Kg: Jenny R.L.
    75 Kg: Lekha K.C.
    Silver: N. Usha (57 Kg)
    Bronze: Chhotu Loura (50 Kg)
    Aruna Mishra (66 Kg)
    Renu (80 Kg)


    Gold: Mary Kom (46 Kg) won her Fourth Gold
    Silver: Usha Nagisetty (57 kg)
    Bronze: Chhoto Loura (50 Kg)
    Sarita Devi (52 Kg)


    Mary Kom (48 Kg) won her Fifth Gold
    Bronze: Kavita Chahal (+81 Kg)

2012: Bronze: Kavita Chahal (+81 Kg)

    45-48 Kg: Sarjubala (Silver)
    81 Kg: Saweety (Silver)

2016: Sonia Lather (Silver in 57 Kg)

    Gold: Mary Kom ((45-48 kg)
    Silver: Sonia Chahal (54-57 kg)
    Bronze: Lovlina Borgohain (64-69 kg)
    Bronze: Simranjeet Kaur (64 Kg)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.