World Cup 2015: 9 Semifinals Between Them, Who Will Enter Final First

New Zealand and South Africa have a weird record against their name. These two are the only teams who have not reached the World Cup final despite entering semifinal in more than one edition. Overall, between them they share 9 semifinals, all unsuccessful attempts. 6 by Kiwis and 3 by South Africans. While South Africans have just broken their biggest jinx of World Cup, New Zealand have been at their best run. As destiny had it, after being unable to enter the final for various technical, non-technical, game and ICC related issues, this was the only option available to get one of these two teams enter the final. Who Will Get to the Final!! Let us check the records.

World Cup 2015: Schedules and Results
World Cup 2015: Five Reasons Why South Africa Will Do a Pakistan in Semifinal
South Africa vs New Zealand: Overall 36-20 for SA, But 4-2 for Kiwis in World Cup

South Africa in Semifinals
In the first two attempts ICC rules forced them out. In 2007 they lost to a better opponent. In 1992 and 1996 World Cup semifinals, weird immature rules from ICC denied South Africa a fair result. In 1992, when they needed just 22 runs from 13 balls in the semifinal against England due to the 10 minutes rain delay, ICC rules asked them to chase 21 runs in 1 ball. Yes, just one ball!! Can there be a worse case of injustice?

Even in 1996, they played a tie in the semifinal against Australia. But, they were declared loser because at the group stage they had lost to Australia. Should a game consider results of group stages at semifinals and finals!! Only ICC would know that.

But, unfortunately on both the occasions of weirdest injustice in World Cups, South Africa was on the receiving end that too in semifinals.

1992: Semis

    Eng def SA by 1 run (D/L method), MOM: Graeme Hick
    Score: Eng 252/6 (45 ov), SA 232/6 (43 ov)

1996: Quarterfinal

    WI def SA by 19 runs, : Brian Lara
    Score: WI 264/8, SA 245

1999: Semifinal

    Aus def SA after tie (on the basis of better net run rate before finals), MOM: Shane Warne
    Score: Aus 213 SA 213

2007: Semifinal

    Aus def SA by 7 wkts, MOM: McGrath
    Score: SA 149, AUs 153/3

2011: Quarterfinal

    New Zealand def South Africa by 49 runs, MOM: Jacob Oram
    Score: NZ 221/8, SA 172

New Zealand in Semifinals
While in the first two attempts their average attepm
1975: Semifinal

    West Indies def New Zealand by 5 wickets, MOM: Kallicharan
    Scores: New Zealand 158, WI 159/5

1979: Semifinal

    England def New Zealand by 9 runs, MOM: Graham Gooch
    Score: Eng 221/8, NZ 212/9

1992: Semifinal

    Pak def NZ by 4 wkts, MOM: Inzamam-ul-Haq
    Score: NZ 262/7, Pak 263/6

1999: Semifinal

    Pak def NZ by 9 wkts, MOM: Shoaib Akhtar
    Score: NZ 241/7, Pak 242/1

2007: Semifinal

    SL def NZ by 81 runs, MOM: Mahela Jayawardene
    Score: SL 289/5, NZ 208

2011: Semifinal

    Sri Lanka defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets, MOM: Sangakkara
    Score: NZ 217, SL 220/5 (47.5)

Continuing its tradition of reaching semifinal in every alternative edition, South Africa has reached its fourth World Cup semifinal. After the losses of semifinals in 1992, 1999 and 2007 and quarterfinal in 1996, South Africa has taken the first major step though. They have won their first knockout match in 7 editions of World Cup after trouncing Sri Lanka in Quarterfinals.

New Zealand on the other hand has already trounced 7 opponents, with Australia as exception and the team appears to be at their best to make corrections and get their team New Zealand into their first final.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.