World Cup Boxing: 23 Medals by Women, 2 by Men for India

Despite so many famous names in Men’s Boxing, before 2013 Men’s Boxing World Championship India achieved only two Bronze whereas Indian women are placed third in all time medal list with 8 Gold 3 silver and 14 bronze. Mary Kom is not only the undisputed Queen of World Boxing for her 6 consecutive finals, but also the best Pugilist of India. View details on who won when and which medals for India in Men’s and Women’s Boxing World Championship.

Indian Women have won 23 medals in 7 Boxing World Cups so far. While Mary Kom won 5 consecutive Gold medals from 2002 to 2010, in 2006 she got company from 3 more women pugilists as Sarita Devi, Jenny R. L. and Lekha KC won a Gold medal each.

Women’s World Cup started in 2001 and so far 7 of them have happened. Starting in 1974, 2013 World Cup is the 17th one for Men’s.

Men’s World Cup Medal List for India: 2 Bronze

    Vijender Kumar won Bronze, the first medal for Indian Men in Middleweight during 2009 Boxing World Championship at Milan, Italy.
    Vikas Krishan Yadav earned Bronze in Welterweight during 2011 at Baku, Azerbaijan.

Women’s World Cup Medal List for India: 8 Gold 3 Silver, 14 Bronze

    2001: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA Silver (Mary Kom, 48 kg)
    2002: Antalya, Turkey Gold (Mary Kom, 45 kg), 3 Bronze (Kumari Meena 48 Kg, Karamjit Kaur 75 Kg, Jyotsana Haryana 90 Kg)
    2005: Podolsk, Russia Gold (Mary Kom, 46 kg), 4 Bronze (Kalpana Chowdhury 50 Kg, Laishram Sarita Devi 54 Kg, Chenthittail Aswathimol 70 Kg, Jyotsana Kumari 86 Kg)
    2006: New Delhi, India – 4 Golds (Mary Kom 46 kg, Sarita Devi 52 Kg, Jenny R. L. 63 Kg, Lekha KC 75 Kg), Silver (N Usha 57 Kg), 3 Bronze (Loura Chhotu 50 kg, Aruna Mishra 66 Kg, Renu 80 Kg)
    2008: Ningbo, People’s Republic of China Gold (Mary Kom, 46 kg), Silver (Usha Nagisetty 57 Kg), 2 Bronze (Chhoto Loura 50 Kg, Sarita Devi 52 Kg)
    2010: Bridgetown, BarbadosGold (Mary Kom, 48 kg), Bronze (Kavita Chahal +81 Kg)
    2012: Qinhuangdao, ChinaBronze (Kavita Chahal +81 Kg)

Mary Kom participated in all the World Cup and has lost only two matches in 7 World Cup. Only in 2012 she failed to reach semifinal when she lost the Quarterfinal to Nicola Adams of England (13-11).
In the inaugural Women’s World Championship in 2011 she lost the final against Hulya Sahin of Turkey.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.