World Cup Quarterfinal: Can Mortaza, Tamim, Mushfiqur & Shakib One Final Blow

Bangladesh has defeated India only thrice. Mortaza has been a key force in all the three wins winning MOMs twice. Tamim, Mushfiqur and Shakib played crucial roles in the last two wins. With Mashrafe Mortaza now being the captain and Bangladesh reaching quarterfinal for the first time in World Cup, can the four players join hands to shock India again!!

India vs Bangladesh Quarterfinal Preview
India vs Bangladesh ODI Rivalry: India 28, Bangladesh 3

Mashrafe Mortaza has been always at his best with ball as well as bat when his team has won against India. In it’s first victory over India, Mortaza was the second highest scorer of his team and then one of the key bowlers too in bowling out India. He led from the front in 2007 World Cup too where Tamim, Mushfiqur and Shakib joined him with bat to chase away India. The three with Nassir Hossain repeated the feat with bat again in 2012 Asia Cup.

Match 1: Ban won by 15 runs, MOM: Mortaza
2004 26th December saw Bangladesh record their first ODI win over giant India. At Dhaka in the second game of the bilateral series, Bangladesh scored 229/9 with 67 from Aftab Ahmed and unbeaten 31 runs from Mashrafe Mortaza.

2/36 by Mortaza and 2 wickets each by Tapash Baisya, Khaled Mahmud and Mohammad Rafique bundled out Indian team for 214 runs in 47.5 overs. Sehwag (0), Captain Ganguly (22), Yuvraj (4), Dhoni (12) failed. Only Sriram (57) and Kaif (49) could offer some fight.

World Cup 2007: Ban won by 5 wickets, MOM: MOrtaza
Tamim (51), Mushfiqur (56) and Shakib (53) were the key batsmen when Bangladesh chased 192 runs in 2007 World Cup after 4/38 by Mashrafe Mortaza bundled India on 191 runs in the 50th over. For India, Ganguly (66) and Yuvraj (47) were the only fighters as Sehwag (2), Tendulkar (7), Captain Dravid (14) and Dhoni (0) failed.

Asia Cup 2012: Ban won by 5 wickets, MOM: Shakib
Tendulkar scored his 100th international century as India scored 289/5 with 50s from Raina and Kohli. Mortaza grabbed 2/44. It was a high chase against the likes of Praveen Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Ashwin and Jadeja. But the trio again defeated India. Tamim (70), Nasir Hossain (54), Shakib (49), Mushfiqur (46*) helped Bangladesh win with 4 balls remaining.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.