IPL 2011: Super Kings Reign, Raining Stars in Chennai

After 74 matches of Indian Premier League of 2011 that saw 10 teams playing, the final in Chennai saw Super Kings emerge winner for the second consecutive edition. The only team to kiss the trophy twice in IPL created a meteor shower among its fans, and the fire-crackers of celebration created an atmoshphere emulating raining of stars in Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings is The 70s-era West Indies of IPL
Chennai Super Kings: Star Performers of 2011
The Chennai Super Kings: The Most Successful IPL Team

Coming to the final, Chennai emerged as the second best team in the group matches of IPL, losing the last match to Royal Challengers Bangalore. But RCB never thought they have to pay twice for that win. First, CSK took the revenge of 2009 semifinal defeat against RCB and then in final punished them for their high hopes of repeating the feat of second group match.

Remaining undefeated at the home venue after 8 matches, Chennai Super Kings won their second IPL final in three entries to the final. In previous editions, they lost 2008 final to Rajasthan Royals, and won the 2010 final defeating Mumbai Indians.

Chennai Super Kings owners retained four players, maximum allowed by IPL council for any team to retain before the 2011 auctions. Dhoni, Raina, Morkel and Murali Vijay were retained. All the four players returned the trust in gem of performances.

The team strategy worked as retained players performed exceptionally. Even the captain’s strategy worked when they won some of the half-lost matches due to shrewd strategy, discipline and confidence. The team can be termed as the 70s Era West Indies of IPL.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.