World Series Hockey: Factfile

With an effort to make Hockey richer and more lucrative Indian Hockey Federation has devised Wolrd Series Hockey (WSH) to make Hockey more popular. Whether it will be the ICL of Cricket, or become very popular in the long run is still debated. In the meantime check the facts asssociated with the tournament.

WSH Schedule & Results
WSH Squads
Teams and Venues
Prize Money
Goal Scorers

Tournament Facts

    Host Country: India
    Organizer: Indian Hockey Federation (Not Hockey India, official Indian Hockey group)
    Tournment Name: World Series Hockey
    WSH Schedule: 29 Feb-Apr 2, 2012
    Format: Double Round-robin and Knock-out
    Game Format: 4 quarters of 17 and 1/2-minutes each for a game
    Teams: 8 (List)
    No. of Players: 207 (Probables)
    No. of Foreign Players: 57 (Probables)
    Title Sponsor: Bridgestone
    Official Sponsor: Vodafone, Seagram’s Imperial Blue
    Brand Ambassador: Suniel Shetty
    TV partner: Nimbus Sport
    Strategic Parter: Dainik Bhaskar
    Technical Director: Dennis Meredith
    Operation Manager: Tina Brullo
    Chief Medical Officer: PSM Chandran
    Manager: Alloysius Edwards
    Prize Money: Rs 10 Crores -plus (Details)
    Goals: List of Goal Scorers

Each team can have maximum 22-25 players, including captain. Each team can have maximum international players, minimum 4 local players (venue related region) and minimum of 4 Indian Youth Players.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.