IPL 2013: Can DD Repeat Kolkata Win!!

Last year Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders were way ahead of other teams in the group stage. While DD failed to clear the semifinal mystery again, KKR not only cleared the mystery but solved the Trophy puzzle too. DD will not forget the defeat inflicted by KKR in the qualifiers of 2012, and would be keen on revenge. Yet in the absence of Sehwag and other top players Mahela’s men would be creating no less than upset, unlike last year when they won at Kolkata, if they manage to defeat the defending champions KKR at home in the IPL 6 opener.

When DD defeated KKR in 2012 at Kolkata in 2nd game of Tournament!!
2013 Schedule

Both have met 10 times in the last five editions. They have seen one match abandoned between them whereas in remaining matches KKR has registered a win more.

Head-to-Head: KKR 5, DD 4

    KKR def DD by Lost 23 R
    No Result


    DD def KKR by 9 Wickets
    DD def KKR by 7 Wickets


    DD def KKR by 40 Runs
    KKR def DD by 14 Runs


    KKR def DD 17 runs


    DD def KKR by 8 wkts
    KKR def DD by 6 wkts
    KKR def CSK def DD in Qualifier 1 by 12 runs

IPL Performances

    DD has reached semifinal in 2008, 2009 and 2012. 2011 saw them finishing at the bottom among the 10 teams. In 2008 and 2010 they won 7 and lost 7 matches, but in 2008 they have one abandoned match also. In 2009 they won 9 and lost only 7. In 2011, they could win only 4 and lost 9, drawing 1. In 2012 DD topped the group with 11 wins, and lost only their 6th match of the tournament in the Qualifier to be knocked out.

    KKR, finally reached the knockout, in 2011. In 2008 they had 6 Win, 7 Losses, 1 No Result against DD. In 2009 they Won 3, Lost 10 and again had 1 No Result. In 2010 they had the best performance with 7 Wins and 7 Losses. Finishing fourth in 2011, KKR won 8, lost 7 including the Eliminator level loss. In 2012 they became the champion and in the process registered 12 wins, losing 5.

Overall Performance

    Till 2012, DD has won 39 and lost 34, with three matches ending in no result. KKR has improved from being the worst to one of the best now. Their win-loss ratio stands at par now with 36 Wins, 36 Losses and 3 No Result.

Who Will Win Today!!

    With many key players from both teams out of contention, the winner would be the team who picks the best 11. KKR does not have Brendum McCullum and Pattinson available now, yet they have options in Yusuf Pathan, Doeschate, Kallis, Brad Haddin, Morgan, Brett Lee and not-to-forget the match winners Bisla, Narine and Balaji. Senanayake is the newest addition, but the question if Gambhir can afford two offspinners in the team, as Narine must play, if available. They would be glad if Yusuf Pathan can again play another MOM knock that help them defeat DD in the Qualifier of 2012 or Kallis can repeat his match winning performance of 2012 league match against KKR.

    DD needs more balancing act. Last year’s MOM Irfan Pathan can again feel at home in KKR. But, in the absence of Sehwag, Pietersen and Ryder the Indian contingents with the likes of Unmukt Chand, Venugopal Rao, Naman Ojha would need to bat more responsibly so that David Warner and Mahela can take them to a good score. Jeevan Mendis must play more for batting and Johan Botha, Andre Russell and Roelef van der Merwe may contest for the bowling slot. Still, overall unless there is a star performance from one of these players (Warner, Mahela, Irfan Pathan), DD may find it tough to repeat their last year’s feat of winning at Kolkata.

Was losing the first match at home against DD served as the right omen for Gambhir’s boys to become champion in 2012!!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.