IPL 6: Sunrisers On Top, Bowlers Defend Low Total Vs Warriors

The third match of IPL 2013 was supposed to be low key affair with the two teams at the bottom of Points Table in last year starting their campaign at Home. Everyone was confused who will win as both are still equally patchy, despite one of them changing Franchise and other one changing the Captain. In the end the low scoring match saw Sunrisers breaking the home jinx to win by 22 runs. Hyderabad fans must frame the picture of their team topping the table ahead of KKR, RCB, MI and DD. Nobody would be surprised if this would be the last time they are seen on top.

IPL 2013 Schedule and Results

In the match of New Team with Old Failed Captain (Sunrisers Hyderabad) against Old Team With New Captain (Pune Warriors), Angelo Mathews sent the home team to bat first. As in the last year, Hyderabad-based team could not show batting strength despite change of guards in terms of Franchise. P Reddy (27 runs in 30 balls), Parthiv Patel (19 runs in 18 balls) gave them 34 runs partnership taking 5.2 overs against the bowling of Samuels, B Kumar and Dinda, who got the first breakthrough with Patel’s wicket, although nobody would have minded even they had played 20 overs with same snail’s pace.

Captain Sangakkara had a bad start like last year scoring 15 runs in 16 balls and Rahul Sharma got him in 10th over at the score of 60/2. From then Sunrisers added another 66 runs losing 4 more wickets. Cameron White (10 runs in 18 balls), Vihari (11 runs in 12 balls), Ashish Reddy (7* runs in 4 balls) and Ravi Teja (4 runs in 4 balls) could not get the right start. Thisera Perera made a quickfire 18-ball 30 runs with 3 boundaries and the only six of his team. Interestingly although Uthappa and Mitch Marsh also hit a six each for Warriors, Perera got the award for hitting most sixes.

For Warriors B Kumar with 17/1 was the best bowler, as expected. Rahul Sharma had 21/1, while Dinda was third best with 29/2. Samuels who opened the bowling finished up with 34/1. Yuvraj Singh had 8/1 in 2 overs while Mathews had 16/0 in 2 overs.

Match Facts

    Mishra’s 77 wickets in (60 matches) is 6 wicket behind the leading wickettaker’s tally of 83 wickets (in 56 matches).
    Steyn is on 11th position with 62 wickets in 55 matches. With 11/2 being the most economic performance, Dale Steyn gave away only 11 runs. He justified his 6th place in overall IPLs most economic bowler rating with an economy of 6.50 in 53 matches.
    Sunrisers registered their first victory.
    Final Score: SH: 126/6, PWI: 104.
    6 overs: 38/1 (SH), 27/0 (PWI)
    10 overs 60/2 (SH) 48/3 (PWI)
    50 runs: 8 overs (SH) 11 overs (PWI)
    100 runs: 16.4 overs (SH) 17/4 overs (PWI)
    6s/4s: 1/12 (SH), 2/6 (PWI)

Warriors started the chase overcautiously with Uthappa 22-ball 24 runs with 2 boundaries and their only six and Manish Pandey, India’s first IPL centurion, (15 runs in 29 balls) taking 6.5 overs to add 36 runs. Steyn, Ishant and Perera bowled well, but such a slow rate was unacceptable. It had impact on other batsmen, as after that wickets kept tumbling. Samuels (5 runs), Yuvraj (2 runs), Ross Taylor and Abhishek Nayar (19 runs each), Mitch Marsh (7 runs) kept tumbling. Captain Mathews remained unbeaten on 6-ball 8 runs as when they needed 23 runs in 2 overs, Steyn cleaned the tail in one over sendig B Kumar (3), Rahul Sharma and Dinda (duck for both) in 5 balls of his last over.

Warriors lost by 22 runs with 7 balls remaining, sending the Surnrisers to the top of the Points table.

Steyn produced the most economic spell of the current season with 11/3 in 3.5 overs. Amit Mishra, who was declared Player of the Match, broke the back of Sunrisers with 19/3. Even Ishant Sharma was a good support with 22/0 in 4 overs. Perera who took the first wicket had an overall good allround performance playing a big role in his team’s win. He deserved to be Player of the match but probably Yuvraj’s wicket (among the three he took) helped Mishra grab the award ahead of Perera.

With quickfire 30 runs, 2/29 and a wonderful run out Perera appeared to be running away with Player of the match award, but surprisingly he only got award for hitting maximum sixes, although he has hit only one in the match.

Ahsish Reddy was expensive with 1/21 in 2 overs but his wicket of Ross Taylor with a very slow ball got him an award for being an innovative thinker.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.