FIFA World Cup Records: A to Z of World Cup Hattricks

Xherdan Shaqiri scored the 50th hattrick of World Cup. Earlier, Thomas Muller has also scored a hattrick in 2014 FIFA World Cup. The German asserted the already established supremacy of Germans in scoring and conceding hattricks. Among the 50 hattricks, 9 of them were the only goals of their sides. One of the penalty extended to record 5 goals by an Individual in one match, while 5 stretched to 4 goals overall in the match. 10 of the hattricks were scored with the help of penalties too. There is only one edition where nobody could score a hattrick. Check the hattrick facts of World Cup, name of scorers, time of goals, for and against which nations, hattricks in every edition, list of hattricks or conceded by name of nations, two hattricks in same match or by players, and what stage of the World Cup how many hattricks were scored.

2014 Football World Cup: Schedule and Results in Indian Standard Time

The three hattricks of 1958 were probably the most celebrated as two of them were scored by Fontaine, who went on to create record of 13 goals in one edition, while the third saw the youngest hattrick scorer in Pele.

Among the players who have scored 10 or more goals in World Cup, Klose, Gerd Muller, Fontaine, Pele, Sandor Kocsis, Batistuta, Lineker, Teófilo Cubillas have scored hattricks.

Hattrick Facts of World Cup

    First Hattrick: Bert Patenaude (USA vs Paraguay, 1930)
    Last Hattrick: Thomas Muller (Germany vs Portugal, 2014)
    Maximum Hattrick in One Edition: 8 in 1954
    No Hattrick in an Edition: 0 in 2006
    Maximum Hattricks by a Team: 7 (Germany including West Germany)
    Maximum Hattricks by one player: 2 hattricks each by 4 players.
    Countries Conceding Hattricks: 35
    Countries Scoring Hattricks: 22
    Youngest Hattrick Scorer: Pele at 17 years and 244 days
    35 of the 50 hattricks were scored in the first round.
    Among the 49 hattricks, 8 of them were the only goals of their sides.
    7 hattricks included two penalties.
    3 hattricks included one penalty. (One of them has fourth goal as penalty)
    Gabriel Batistuta is the only player to score two hattricks in different editions.
    Oleg Salenko created World Record by scoring 5 goals in a match. The Russian scored 5 goals against Cameroon in 1994 World Cup.
    László Kiss (Hungary vs El Salvador in 1982) became the only substitute to score a hattrick in World Cup.

Maximum Hattricks in One Edition

    8: 1954
    4: 1938, 1982, 1986
    3: 1930, 1934, 1958
    2: 1950, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1990, 1994, 2014
    1: 1962, 1998, 2002, 2010

Maximum Hattricks by a Player

    2: Sándor Kocsis (both 1954)
    Just Fontaine (both 1958)
    Gerd Müller (both 1970)
    Gabriel Batistuta (1994 and 1998)

Two Hattricks In same Match

    Both Teams: Leônidas of Brazil and Ernest Wilimowski of Poland in 1938.
    Theodor Wagner (Austria) and Josef Hügi (Switzerland) in 1954 Football World Cup.
    Same Team: Gustav Wetterström and Harry Andersson of Sweden scored hattricks vs Cuba in 1930 FIFA World Cup.

Hattrick By Countries
22 countries have hit at least one hattrick in the World Cup.

    7 Germany
    4 Argentina, Hungary
    3 Brazil, Poland, Uruguay
    2 Austria, Czechoslovakia, England, France, Italy, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
    1 Denmark, Netherlands, Peru, Turkey, USA, Yugoslavia

Hattrick Vs Countries
35 countries have conceded at least one hattrick.

    4 Germany, South Korea
    3 Belgium, Poland
    2 Brazil, Bulgaria, Cuba, Iran, Paraguay
    1 Austria, Bolivia, Cameroon, Chile, Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, El Salvador, France, Greece, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, North Korea, Peru, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uruguay, USA, Yugoslavia, Zaire, Honduras

Hattricks at Different Stages

    1st Round: 35
    2nd Round: 5
    QF: 5
    SF: 3
    3rd Place: 1 (Just Fontaine for France vs West Germany, 1958)
    Final: 1 (Geoff Hurst for England vs West Germany, 1966)

Hattricks By Players
The list shows history of 50 hattricks with the name of player, countries participating and the minutes in which it was scored during the match.
Time with P indicates penalty.

Player For Against Minutes Year
Bert Patenaude USA Paraguay 10,15,50 1930
Guillermo Stábile Argentina Mexico 8,17,80 1930
Pedro Cea Uruguay Yugoslavia 18,67,72 1930
Angelo Schiavio Italy USA 18,29,64 1934
Edmund Conen Germany Belgium 66,70,87 1934
Oldřich Nejedlý Czechoslovakia Italy 19,71,80 1934
Ernest Wilimowski Poland Brazil 18,93,104 1938
Gustav Wetterström Sweden Cuba 32,37,44 1938
Harry Andersson Sweden Cuba 9,81,89 1938
Oscar Míguez Uruguay Bolivia 14,45,56 1950
Ademir Brazil Sweden 17,36,52,58 1950
Sándor Kocsis Hungary South Korea 24,36,50 1954
Erich Probst Austria Czechoslovakia 4,21,24 1954
Carlos Borges Uruguay Scotland 17,47,57 1954
Sándor Kocsis Hungary Germany 3,21,67,78 1954
Burhan Sargın Turkey South Korea 37,64,70 1954
Max Morlock Germany Turkey 30,60,77 1954
Theodor Wagner Austria Switzerland 25,27,53 1954
Josef Hügi Switzerland Austria 17,19,58 1954
Just Fontaine France Paraguay 24,30,67 1958
Pele Brazil France 52,64,75 1958
Just Fontaine France Germany 16,36,78,89 1958
Flórián Albert Hungary Bulgaria 1,6,53 1962
Eusébio Portugal North Korea 27,43P,56,59P 1966
Geoff Hurst England Germany 18,98,120 1966
Gerd Müller Germany Bulgaria 27,52P,88 1970
Gerd Müller Germany Peru 19,26,39 1970
Dušan Bajević Yugoslavia Zaire 8,30,81 1974
Andrzej Szarmach Poland Haiti 30,34,50 1974
Rob Rensenbrink Netherlands Iran 40P,62,79P 1978
Teófilo Cubillas Peru Iran 36P,39P,79 1978
László Kiss Hungary El Salvador 69,72,76 1982
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany Chile 9,57,66 1982
Zbigniew Boniek Poland Belgium 4,26,53 1982
Paolo Rossi Italy Brazil 5,25,74 1982
Preben Elkjær Larsen Denmark Uruguay 11,67,80 1986
Gary Lineker England Poland 9,14,34 1986
Igor Belanov Russia Belgium 27,70,11P 1986
Emilio Butragueño Spain Denmark 43,56,80,88P 1986
Míchel Spain South Korea 22,61,81 1990
Tomáš Skuhravý Czechoslovakia Costa Rica 12,63,82 1990
Gabriel Batistuta Argentina Greece 2,44,89P 1994
Oleg Salenko Russia Cameroon 14,41,44P,72,75 1994
Gabriel Batistuta Argentina Jamaica 72,80,82 1998
Miroslav Klose Germany Saudi Arabia 20,25,70 2002
Pauleta Portugal Poland 14,65,77 2002
Gonzalo Higuaín Argentina South Korea 33,76,80 2010
Thomas Müller Germany Portugal 12P,45,78 2014
Xherdan Shaqiri Switzerland Honduras 6,31,71 2014

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.