BWF World Championships: Past Winners of Men’s Singles

The World Championships of Badminton 2018 is the 25th Badminton World Cup. Prakash Padukone is the only Indian to have won a medal in Men’s Singles. He won the Bronze medal in 1983 World Championship. China did not win any medal in first two World Cups. But, from 1983 they have dominated the Badminton World Cup. Overall, India has won 2 Silver and 5 Bronze medals and are yet to have any semifinalists in Men’s and Mixed Doubles events. Check the complete list of the past Men’s Singles Winner since 1977 till the end of 2017.

List of Women’s Singles Winner
2018 Badminton World Championships: Indian Squad

List of Past Winners of Men’s Singles

Year Venue Gold Silver Bronze
1977 Malmo, Sweden Flemming Delfs (Denmark) Svend Pri (Denmark) Iie Sumirat (Indonesia) & Thomas Kihlstrom (Sweden)
1980 Jakarta, Indonesia Rudy Hartono (Indonesia) Liem Swie King (Indonesia) P. Hadiyanto and Lius Pongoh (Indonesia)
1983 Copenhague, Denmark Icuk Sugiarto (Indonesia) Liem Swie King (Indonesia) Prakash Padukone (India) & Han Jian (China)
1985 Calgary, Canada Han Jian (China) Morten Frost (England) Pieter Nierhoff (England) & Yang Yang (China)
1987 Beijing, China Yang Yang (China) Morten Frost (England) Zhao Jianhua (China) & Icuk Sugiarto (Indonesia)
1989 Jakarta, Indonesia Yang Yang (China) Ardy Wiranata Icuk Sugiarto (Indonesia) & Eddy Kurniawan (Indonesia)
1991 Copenhagen, Denmark Zhao Jianhua (China) Alan Budikusuma (Indonesia) Ardy Wiranata (Indonesia) & Liu Jun (China)
1993 Birmingham, England Joko Suprianto (Indonesia) Hermawan Susanto (Indonesia) Thomas Stuer-Lauridsen (Denmark) & Ardy Wiranata (Indonesia)
1995 Lausanne, Switzerland Heryanto Arbi (Indonesia) Park Sung-woo (Korea) Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen (Denmark) & Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen (Denmark)
1997 Glasgow, Scotland Peter Rasmussen (Denmark) Sun Jun (China) Heryanto Arbi (Indonesia) & Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen (Denmark)
1999 Copenhagen, Denmark Sun Jun (China) Fung Permadi (Chinese Taipei) Peter Gade (Denmark) & Poul-Erik Hoyer Larsen (Denmark)
2001 Seville, Spain Hendrawan (Indonesia) Peter Gade (Denmark) Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) & Chen Hong (China)
2003 Birmingham, United Kingdom Xia Xuanze (China) Wong Choong Hann (Malaysia) Shon Seung-mo (Korea) & Bao Chunlai (China)
2005 California, United States Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) Lin Dan (China) Peter Gade (Denmark) & Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia)
2006 Madrid, Spain Lin Dan (China) Bao Chunlai (China) Chen Hong (China) & Lee Hyun-il (Korea)
2007 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysis Lin Dan (China) Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Indonesia) Bao Chunlai (China) & Chen Yu (China)
2009 Hyderabad, India Lin Dan (China) Chen Jin (China) Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) & Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Indonesia)
2010 Paris, France Chen Jin (China) Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) Park Sung-hwan (Korea) & Peter Gade (Denmark)
2011 Wembley, London Lin Dan (China) Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) Chen Jin & Peter Gade (Denmark)
2013 Guangzhou Lin Dan (China) Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) Nguyễn Tiến Minh (Vietnam) & Du Pengyu (China)
2014 Copenhagen Chen Long (China) Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) (DQ) Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) & Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia)
2015 Jakarta Long Chen (China) Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) Kento Momota (Japan) & Jan Ø. Jørgensen (Denmark)
2017 Scotland Victor Axelsen (Denmark) Lin Dan (China) Long Chen (China) & Son Wan Ho (Korea)
2018 Nanjing Kento Momota (Japan) Shi Yuqi (China) Long Chen (China) & Daren Liew (USA)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.