Asian Games Tennis: Trio Helps India Get 5th Best

India won its first medal in 1966 but since late 1990s have been one of the prominent winners in the Asian Games Tennis. With 8 Gold medals, 6 Silver medals and 13 Bronze medals, India has 5th best medal tally at Asian Games after Japan, South Korea, Indonesia and China. Despite having one of the weakest team in 2014, India has equalled the record of 2010 of winning maximum 5 medals. 2010 equalled the record of 1994 and 2006 in earning maximum 2 Gold medals in Tennis at one
Asian Games edition. Needless to say, Leander Paes (6 medals), Mahesh Bhupathi and Sania Mirza (5 medals each) are the most successful Indian Tennis players at Asian Games.

Indian Record at Asian Games: Wrestling
Asian Games Indian Results: Sept 20, Sept 21, Sept 22, Sept 23, Sept 24, Sept 25, Sept 26, Sept 27, Sept 28, Sept 29
Asian Games overall Results: Sept 20
Daily Schedule for India: Sept 20
Overall Schedule: Sept 20, Sept 21, Sept 22, Sept 24
Asian Games Shooting: Medal Winners of Every Asian Games
Schedule of Indians for Other Sports in Asian Games: Swimming, Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Canoeing, Cycling, Equestrian, Football, Golf, Handball, Hockey, Kabaddi, Rowing, Rugby, Sailing, Sepaktakraw, Shooting, Squash, Taekwondo, Tennis, Volleyball, Weightlifting, Wushu
Indian Contingent

G=Gold, S=Silver, B=Bronze
Medals by Events

    Men’s Singles: 1G 4B
    Women’s Singles: 1S 1B
    Men’s Doubles: 4G 1S 4B
    Women’s Doubles: 1B
    Mixed Doubles: 2G 2S 2B
    Men’s Team: 1G 1S 1B
    Women’s Team: 1S

Year Wise Medals in Asian Games

    1966 1B
    1978 1B
    1982 1S
    1990 1B
    1994 2G 1B
    1998 4B
    2002 1G 1S 2B
    2006 2G 2S
    2010 2G 1S 2B
    2014 1G 1S 3B

Gold Medal Winners

    1994 Guarav Natekar and Leander Paes Men’s Doubles
    1994 Men’s Team
    2002 Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes Men’s Doubles
    2006 Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes Men’s Doubles
    2006 Sania Mirza and Leander Paes Mixed Doubles
    2010 Somdev Devvarman and Sanam Singh Men’s Doubles
    2010 Somdev Devvarman Men’s Singles
    2014 Saketh Sai Myneni/Sania Mirza Mixed Doubles

Silver Medal Winners

    1982 Men’s Team
    2002 Manisha Malhotra and Mahesh Bhupathi Mixed Doubles
    2006 Sania Mirza Women’s Singles
    2006 Women’s Team
    2010 Sania Mirza and Vishnu Vardhan Mixed Doubles
    2014 Sanam Singh and Saketh Mynemni Men’s Doubles

Bronze Medal Winners

    1966 Venka Dhawan and Misra Men’s Doubles
    1978 Shyam Minotra and Chiradip Mukerjea Men’s Doubles
    1990 Men’s Team
    1994 Leander Paes Men’s Singles
    1998 Mahesh Bhupathi Men’s Singles
    1998 Srinath Prahlad Men’s Singles
    1998 Men’s Team
    1998 Nirupama Vaidyanathan and Mahesh Bhupathi Mixed Doubles
    2002 Sania Mirza and Leander Paes Mixed Doubles
    2002 Mustafa Ghouse and Vishal Uppal Men’s Doubles
    2010 Men’s Team
    2010 Sania Mirza Women’s Singles
    2014 Yuki Bhambri Men’s Singles
    2014 Prarthana Gulabrao/Sania Mirza Women’s Doubles
    2014 Yuki Bhambri and Divij Sharan Men’s Doubles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.