IPL 2015 Match 1 Preview: In Gambhir vs Rohit duel, Edens Gets KKR the Edge

Some time back Eden Gardens went electric celebrating the century of Rohit Sharma. Today, the same crowd would cheer and pray for his loss as Mumbai Indians captain. For the third consecutive season, Kolkata Knight Rider is playing the first match of the edition. They defeated Delhi Daredevils in 2013 and Mumbai Indians in 2014. Playing at home, defending champion KKR would expect to start with a win again as MI may need time to accommodate at Eden Gardens.

IPL 2015: Fixture and Results

Mumbai Indians have dominated Kolkata Knight Riders with 10 wins. KKR has won 2 matches only winning one in 2010 and other in 2012. But in 2014, on their way to 2nd championship, KKR improved their record with 2 back-to-back wins vs Mumbai Indians.

Head-to-Head: MI 10, KKR 4

    MI def KKR by 7 Wickets
    MI def KKR by 8 Wickets


    MI def KKR by 92 runs
    MI def KKR by 9 Runs


    MI def KKR by 7 wickets
    KKR def MI def by 9 wickets


    MI def KKR by 5 wkts
    by 4 wickets, MOM: Munaf Patel


    MI won by 27 runs, MOM: Rohit Sharma
    KKR won by 32 runs, MOM: Sunil Narine


    MI won by 5 wkts, MOM: Dwayn Smith
    MI won by 65 runs, MOM: Tendulkar


    KKR won by 41 runs, MOM: Kallis (72 runs)
    KKR won by 6 wickets, MOM: Uthappa (52-ball 80 runs)

2008 Performance
In 2008, MI won 7 and lost 7 too. KKR won 6 and lost 7.

2009 Performance
In 2009, MI won 5 and lost 8, with one match abandoned. KKR won only 3 and lost remaining.

2010 Performance
In 2010 they were extremely successful winning 11 and losing only 4. KKR with 7 wins and 7 losses could not reach knockout due to less NRR.

2011 Performance
MI won 9 and lost 5, while KKR won 8 and lost 6.

2012 Performance
MI reached the Eliminator winning 10 and losing 7. KKR won the tournament winning 12, losing 5 and 1 no result against Deccan Chargers.

2013 Performance
MI is the winner, while KKR got back to their poor performances.

2014 Performance
MI reached the eliminator where they lost to CSK. They overall won 7 and lost 8 matches. KKR on the other hand won 11 matches and lost 5 to win the championship.

Overall Performance
Mumbai Indians have the best team record, after CSK with 63 Wins, 47 Losses, 1 NR against Rajasthan Royals in 2009. KKR on the other hand has 53 wins and lost 51 with 3 no results, one each against DD, CSK and DC.

Team Comparison
Both the teams have lot of international players and their administrative staff also carries lot of Cricketing experience. Led by experienced Indian internationals, Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir both the teams appear equally matched in their first match of Indian Premier League 2015.

Gambhir may find it difficult to select the allrounders as his cupboard is full of Yusuf Pathan, Doeschate, Shakib, Botha, Azhar Mahmood and the in-form Andre Russell. While Yusuf Pathan gets automatic selection, based on his form before and during World Cup 2015, Andre Russell may get into playing XI ahead of Doeschate or Shakib. Sunil Narine is certain to play while Chris Lynn may get a look to strengthen the batting.

Mumbai Indians have the devastating openers Pollard and Anderson, while as an opener Finch can give a good start and may be picked ahead of Blizzard or Lendl Simmons. Malinga fills the quote of 4th overseas player in the squad.

MIs strength is their strong Indian internationals that include captain Rohit Sharma, Rayudu, Harbhajan and Pragyan Ojha. Parthiv Patel and in-form Vinay Kumar may make the squad almost invincible.

On paper, MI looks stronger. By record MI looks stronger. But, KKR has proved in the last three editions that they are almost invincible when they play at Eden Gardens. With Narine ready to play, Gambhir and KKR appear set to make third consecutive start of an IPL edition with a win.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.