Davis Cup: Yuki Bhambri Takes India to Rare World Group Playoff

Yuki Bhambri emerged as the hero for Indian Men’s Davis Cup team winning both the singles, including the decisive last match of the tie taking India to World Group Playoff. At Christchurch in the Asia Oceania Group I tie India defeated the hosts New Zealand 3-2, registering 4th consecutive win over them in the Davis Cup.

Ranked 25 in Davis Cup ranking, Indian team came from 1-2 behind for the fourth time in their Davis Cup history to win a tie as they defeated the 29th ranked New Zealand.

Davis Cup Statistics

    India eying 9th time entry in the World Group now as they play Playoff in September.
    4th time that India won the tie after trailing 1-2.

Somdev Devvarman wins the return Singles vs Daniell of New Zealand 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 to level the score 2-2 in Group I Asia/Oceania 2nd Round. with the World Group Playoff at stake in the decider match, Yuki Bhambri defeated Michale Venus in straight sets winning his second singles of the tie. Venus who is ranked 548 in Singles had defeated Somdev in the first Singles. Yuki, ranked 151 in Singles has earlier defeated Statham on Day 1.

Earlier, Yuki Bhambri won while Somdev Devvarman lost on Day 1 and Rohan Bopanna and Saketh Myneni lost the Men’s Doubles 3-6, 6-7(1), 3-6 to Artem Sitak and Marcus Daniell as New Zealand took 2-1 lead in their Davis Cup tie on Day 2.

Match Results

    1. Michael Venus def Somdev Devvarman 4-6 4-6 6-3 6-3 6-1
    2. Yuki Bhambri def Jose Statham 6-2 6-1 6-3
    3. Marcus Daniell & Artem Sitak def Rohan Bopanna & Saketh Myneni 6-3 7-6(1) 6-3
    4. Somdev Devvarman def Marcus Daniell 6-4 6-4 6-4
    5. Yuki Bhambri def Michale Venus 6-2 6-2 6-3

Davis Cup Head to Head: India 5: 3 New Zealand
In 8 Davis Cup encounters, India has won on 5 occasions while New Zealand has won thrice.

    1975: New Zealand def India 3-1 at Lucknow.
    1976: New Zealand def India 3-2 at Auckland.
    1978: New Zealand def India 4-1 at New Delhi.
    2002: India def New Zealand 4-1 at Welllington.
    2003: India def New Zealand 4-1 at Kolkata.
    2004: India def New Zealand 3-2 at Invercargill.
    2012: India def New Zealand 5-0 at Chandigarh.
    2015: India def New Zealand 3-2 at Christchurch.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.