Indian Results in 2016: 15 Individuals, 10 Teams Win 36 Titles in 20 Tournaments

Indian badminton

Besides the first ever Olympic Silver medal in Badminton, Indians won 36 titles in 20 tournaments, including two Super Series titles. 5 winners at Mauritius International, 4 winners at Nepal and India Open, 3 Winners at Bangladesh, besides multiple two titles in various tournaments including Two Gold at Asian Para-Badminton presented a bright future for the upcoming years. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy won maximum 7 titles, winning 4 with Chirag Shetty and 3 with Maneesha, while Alwin Francis / Tarun Kona with 3 titles and 2 Runners up entered the maximum finals from India. As Sindhu emerged as best Indian player with 6th ranking in the final BWF list of 2016, Indians won 18 titles each in Singles and Doubles. Check the complete list of titles and Runners up in all events for Indians in 2016..

Indian Performance in 2015

At the end of 2016, BWF ranking saw PV Sindhu rise to 6th, Saina staying within 10 despite less participation, while winner of two tournaments in 2016 Pranaav Jerry Chopra and Sikki Reddy rise to 15th in Mixed Doubles. Srikanth slumped to 15th while Jayaram is placed at 19th. Men’s Doubles has Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy at 22nd, Pranaav Chopra and Akshay Dewalkar at 46th, while with multiple championships winners Francis Alwin and Tarun Kona has reached 60th. Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa are still placed at 24th.

Women’s Singles: 7 tiles by 5 Women

    2: PV Sindhu (1 Super Series), Rituparna Das
    1: Saina Nehwal, Ruthvika Shivani Gadde, Saili Rane

Men’s Singles: 11 titles by 10 Men

    2: Abhishek Yelegar
    1: HS Prannoy (Super Series), Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj and Manoj Sarkar (Para), Sourabh Varma, Srikanth Kidambi, B. Sai Praneeth, Rahul Yadav Chittaboina, Pratul Joshi, Lakshya Sen

Men’s Doubles: 9 titles by 4 teams

    4: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty
    3: Alwin Francis / Tarun Kona
    1: Arjun M.R./Ramchandran Shlok, Manu Attri / B. Sumeeth Reddy

Mixed Doubles: 6 Titles by 3 teams

    3: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/K. Maneesha
    2: Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Sikki Reddy
    1: Saurabh Sharma/Anoushka Parikh

Wpmen’s Doubles: 3 titles by 3 teams

    1: Meghana Jakkampudi/Poorvisha S Ram, Sanjana Santosh/Arathi Sara Sunil, Foreigner Partner/Prajakta Sawant

All Results of Indians finishing as Winners and Runners
First Olympic Silver Medal: PV Sindhu
Super Series Winners

    1. China Open: PV Sindhu
    2. Swiss Open: HS Prannoy

Other Winners

    3. Australian Open: Saina Nehwal
    4. Malaysian Masters: PV Sindhu
    5. Asian Para-Badminton Championships: Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj and Manoj Sarkar
    6. Bangladesh International Challenge: 3 Winners (MS: Abhishek Yelegar, MD: Satwiksairaj / Chirag, XD: Satwiksairaj / Maneesha)
    7. Brazil Open: Sikki Reddy & Pranaav Chopra (Mixed Doubles)
    8. Chinese Taipei Masters: Sourabh Varma
    9. Russian Open: 2 Titles (Ruthvika Shivani Gadde, Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Sikki Reddy)
    10. Syed Modi International: Srikanth Kidambi
    11. Canada Open Grand Prix: B. Sai Praneeth, Manu Attri / B. Sumeeth Reddy
    12. Mauritius International: Rahul Yadav Chittaboina, Saili Rane, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty, Partner/Prajakta Sawant, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/K. Maneesha
    13. Guatemala International: Alwin Francis / Tarun Kona (Men’s Doubles)
    14. Peru International Series: Alwin Francis / Tarun Kona
    15. Botswana International: Alwin Francis/Tarun Kona
    16. Bahrain International Challenge: Pratul Joshi
    17. India International Series: Lakshya Sen, Rituparna Das, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/ K. Maneesha
    18. Tata Open India International Challenge: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty
    19. Nepal International Series: Abhishek Yelegar, Arjun M.R./Ramchandran Shlok, Meghana Jakkampudi/Poorvisha S Ram, Saurabh Sharma/Anoushka Parikh
    20. Polish International: Rituparna Das, Sanjana Santosh/Arathi Sara Sunil

Runners up

    1. Hong Kong Open: PV Sindhu and Sameer Verma
    2. Belgian International: Sourabh Varma
    3. Bitburger Open: Sourabh Varma
    4. Brazil Open: Anand Pawar
    5. Dutch Open: Ajay Jayaram
    6. Russian Open: Siril Verma
    7. Welsh International: Ashwini Ponnappa & Sikki Reddy
    8. Bangladesh International Challenge: Shreyansh, M Anilkumar / Venkat Gaurav, Jakkampudi / Poorvisha
    9. Syed Modi International: Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Akshay Dewalkar
    10. Brazil International: Alwin Francis / Tarun Kona
    11. Jamaica International: Alwin Francis / Tarun Kona
    12. Peru International: Manu Attri/Sumeeth Reddy (Men’s Doubles)
    13. Mauritius International: C. Rohit Yadav, Dhruv Kapila/Saurabh Sharma, Partner/Prajakta Sawant
    14. Polish International: Sourabh Varma, Rasika Raje
    15. Bahrain International Challenge: Aditya Joshi, Vighnesh Devlekar/Rohan Kapoor. Farha Mather/Ashna Roy
    16. Norwegian International: Akshay Dewalkar/ Kona Tarun
    17. Scottish Open: Pranaav Jerry Chopra/N. Sikki Reddy
    18. India International Series: Gadde Ruthvika Shivani
    19. Tata Open India International Challenge: Pardeshi Shreyanshi, Arjun M.R./Ramchandran Shlok, Vighnesh Devlekar/ Kuhoo Garg

World Junior Mixed Team Championships 2016: Indian Finish 8th

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.