Saina Leads Winners of 18 Titles in 2016 to Hunt 3rd Malaysian Masters Title for India

After winning 18 international titles including two Super Series titles in 2016, Indians start their international badminton campaign of 2017 with Malaysian Masters. Saina Nehwal leads a huge Indian squad to Malaysian Grand Prix where Indians will compete in 25 individual and doubles matches of all 5 events. The tournament starts on Jan 17 and ends on Jan 22. The current Indian squad has players who won multiple titles in 2016. Can they add to the Indian tally of 2 Malaysian Masters title, both won by PV Sindhu, the defending champion! What does the list of players tell you!

2016 Malaysian Masters Women’s Singles was won by PV Sindhu, while Srikanth reached the semifinals. Details of Indian performance at Malaysian Masters in 2016.
Malaysian Masters 2017 Performances: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4 (QF), Day 5 (SF), Day 6 (Final)

In 2017 Malaysian Masters, Mixed Doubles, Men’s Doubles and Singles will see 5 from India playing qualification round to try and join other from India who will start campaign in 10 Singles and 12 Doubles matches of 1st Round. Saina Nehwal is the top seed, Manu/Sumeeth are third seed in Men’s Doubles, while last year’s semifinalist Ajay Jayaram is 6th seed.

Qualification: 5
Mixed Doubles: 2

    Mixed Doubles: Balasubramannian Narendran Geetha/Haritha Manazhiyil Harinarayanan: Lost in 1st Round
    Mixed Doubles: S Sunjith (jr)/Sruthi KP: Lost in 1st Round
    Women’s Singles: Sai Uttejitha Rao CHUKKA: Lost in 1st Round
    Men’s Singles: Munawar Mohammed: Lost in 2nd Round of Qualification
    Men’s Doubles: Balasubramannian Narendran Geetha/S Sunjith (jr): Lost in 1st Round

1st Round Matches
Women’s Singles: 2

    1. Top Seed Saina Nehwal (1 Title in 2016) Winner
    2. Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli

: 1st Round
Men’s Singles: 8

    1. Ajay Jayaram (6th seed) (1 Runners up in 2016): QF
    2. Harsheel Dani: 2nd Round
    3. Rahul Yadav Chittaboina (1 title in 2016): Lost in 1st round
    4. Abhishek Yelegar (2 titles in 2016): Lost in 1st round
    5. Siril Verma (1 Runners up in 2016): Lost in 1st round
    6. Pratul Joshi (1 title in 2016): 2nd Round
    7. Aditya Joshi (1 Runners up in 2016): Lost in 1st round
    8. Hemanth M. Gowda: 2nd Round

Men’s Doubles: 4

    1. 3rd Seed Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy (1 title in 2016): 2nd Round
    2. Chirag Shetty / Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (4 titles in 2016): 1st Round
    3. Arjun MR / Ramchandran Shlok (1 title in 2016): 2nd Round
    4. Tarun Kona / Francis Allwin (3 titles in 2016)

: 1st Round
Women’s Doubles: 4

    1. Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy (1 Runners up in 2016): 1st Round
    2. Haritha / Sruthi: 1st Round
    3. Mahima Aggardwal / Maneesha K: 1st Round
    4. Aparna Balan / Prajakta Sawant: 2nd Round

Mixed Doubles: 4

    1. Sumeeth Reddy / Ashwini Ponnappa: 1st Round
    2. Manu Attri / Jwala Gutta: 2nd Round
    3. Satwiksairaj / Maneesha K (3 titles in 2016): 2nd Round
    4. Prajakta Sawant / (Yogendran Khrishnan (Malaysia) (1 title in 2016)

: 2nd Round

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.