German Open 2017: 12th seed Kidambi Leads Indian Contingent for Singles

Srikanth Kidambi, seeded 12th, spearheads an Indian contingent that will participate only in Singles. While in Women’s Singles, India’s third best after Saina and SIndhu, Tanvi Lad is the lone Indian, in Men’s Singles 5 more Indians join Srikanth. 2014 Men’s Singles title winner Arvind Bhat is the only Indian winner at German Open. A win in 1st Round can take Tanvi Lad to Carolina Marin in Round 2. On Day 1 (Feb 28), Subhakar Dey has entered Round 2, Harshit Aggarwal has qualified for the main round awaiting Round 1 match today with other Indians in fray.

Results so far on Day 1

    Subhankar Dey def Junpeng Zhao 16-21 21-17 21-19 in 52 minutes
    Harsheel Dani lost to 6th see Tien Chen 21-13 21-12

More Matches Scheduled on Day 1:
Men’s Singles Round 1:

    Rahul Yadav vs Misha Zilberman (Israel)
    Sirli Verma vs 3rd seed Lin Dan (China)
    Harshit Aggarwal vs Bjorn Seguin (Malaysia)
    Srikanth Kidambi vs Alen Roj (Slovenia)

Others will start campaign on Day 2
Day 2 Schedule WS Tanvi Lad vs Priskila (Qualifier from Indonesia)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.