Sindhu Wins 1st India Open Title To Earn 2nd Super Series Title

From the start of the tournament, she appeared invincible. First she overcame two time India Open champion’s Challenge and then the third seed defeated 2nd seed and top seed, respectively to lift India Open 2017 Women’s Single title. As PV Sindhu won her second Super Series title in her 4th such final, India earned its 5th India Open title, after two from Saina, one from Srikanth and one in Mixed Doubles from V Diju and Jwala Gutta. Denmark won its first title ine Men’s Singles at India Open, overall third title after double win of Men’s and Mixed Doubles in 2015. Japan amd China saw 2nd consecutive India Open Super Series titles in Women’s and Mixed Doubles, respectively, while Indonesia won its first title at India Open in Men’s Doubles.

Results of India Open 2017 final:

    WS: 3rd seed Sindhu def top seed Carolina Marin 21-19, 21-16 in 47 minutes
    MS: 3rd seed Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) def 7th seed Tien Chen Chou (Chinese Taipei) 21-13 21-10 in 36 minutes
    WD: 7th seed Shiho/Koharu (Japan) def 3rd seed Naoko/Kurumi (Japan 16-21 21-19 21-10 in 1 hour 2 minutes
    MD: 4th seed Marcu/Kevin (Indonesia) def 6th seed Ricky/Angga (Indonesia) 21-11 21-15 in 30 mnts
    XS: 2nd seed Lu Kai/Huang Yaqiong (China) def Top seed Siwei/Chen (China) 22-24 21-14 21-17 in 1 hours 4 minutes

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.