By Records, Edens is a Copy of Chepauk! Will Result Vary?

Before current Bilateral series, Aussies had a memorable Chepauk connection winning all ODIs there, defeating India in the only match they played. Even at Eden Gardens, Aussies have never lost an ODI, and also defeated India in the only match played before. But, they will pray resuls vary now. With only 55% ODIs win at Edens including only 2 of the last 5 ODIs, Indians have their own battles to win. Still, like some big losses at Edens are forgotten by victory in many finals and then World record 264 by Rohit Sharma, Kohli’s boys would expect to do what they are doing the best. Win.

Indian ODI Match Results at Eden Gardens

From the current squad, Captain Kohli and Rohit Sharma have scored a match winning century each. Dhoni has remained unbeaten twice. Jadeja and Hardik Pandya have been among the wickets. The youngsters with bat and ball are brimming with confidence. The team is showing good balance for all weathers.

Aussies have few challenges to tackle specially the spin factor, the continuous losses against India and then the low confidence. But, Smith has always been a fighter and Aussies are known to be a good talented fighters. IPL experts, Warner, Maxwell, Faulkner hold the key for a much needed turnaround.

Indian Statistics

    Played 21: Won 11, Lost 8, NR 2
    MOMs: 10
    Max MOMs: Tendulkar (3)
    Highest Score: 404/5 by India (321 by England is next best)
    100s: 13 (5 by Indians – 264 Rohit, 150* Gambhir, 123 Srikkanth, 107 Kohli, Tendulkar 100*)
    Most Runs: Tendulkar 496, Azharuddin 332, Rohit 264, Kohli 234
    Best Bowling 6/12 Kumble, 5/29 Donald, 4/23 Venkatesh Prasad
    Most Wickets: 14 (Kumble, Kapil), 9 Jadeja

Indian MOMs at Eden Gardens

    1. Mohinder Amarnath for unbeaten 70 and 1/46 (1988, Ind def WI)
    2. Azharuddin for 39-ball 54 runs (1991 Asia Cup Final, Ind def SL)
    3. Tendulkar for 62 runs and 1/27 (1991, Ind def SA)
    4. Azharuddin for 90 runs (Hero Cup SF 1993, Ind def SA)
    5. Kumble 6/12 (Hero Cup Final 1993, Ind def WI)
    6. Tendulkar for 66 runs & 1/35 (Wills World Series Final 1994, Ind def WI)
    7. Tendulkar 100* (1998 Coca-Cola Final, Ind def Kenya)
    8. Gambhir for 137-ball unbeaten 150 (2009, Ind def SL)
    9. Jadeja 4/33 and 21 runs (2011, Ind def Eng)
    10. Rohit Sharma 173-ball 264 runs (2014, Ind def SL)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.