World Wrestling Championships: Indian Medal Winners

India has won 1 Gold, 3 Silver and 9 Bronze medals in World Wrestling Championships that started in 1904 and have become Combined event since 2005 including Silver won by Bajrang Punia and Bronze by Pooja Dhanda in 2018 World Wrestling Championship. India hosted the Men’s Freestyle World Championship in 1967 at New Delhi.

When Sushil Kumar won Gold
2018 World Wrestling Championship: Indian Results

Wrestling Championships Timeline

    1904 First Men’s Greco-Roman World Championship
    1951 First Men’s Freestyle World Championship
    1987 First Women’s freestyle World Championship
    2005 All three events Combined into one Championship
    1961 1st ever medal for India
    2010 Only Gold for India by Sushil Kumar
    2013 Maximum 3 medals in one event for India
    2018 Bajrang Punia becomes first Indian wrestler to win two medals

Indian Medal Winners
Here is the list of Indian Medal winners at all three events of World Wrestling Championship before 2018.
Gold: 2010 Sushil Kumar Men’s FS 66 Kg

    1967 Bishambar Singh Men’s FS 57 Kg
    2013 Amit Kumar Dahiya Men’s FS 55 Kg
    2018 Bajrang Punia Men’s FS 65 Kg


    1961 Udey Chand Men’s FS 67 Kg
    2006 Alka Tomar Women’s FS 59 Kg
    2009 Ramesh Kumar Men’s FS 74 Kg
    2012 Babita Kumari Women’s FS 51 Kg
    2012 Geeta Phoga Women’s FS 55 Kg
    2013 Bajrang Punia Men’s FS 60 Kg
    2013 Sandeep Tulsi Yadav Men’s GR 66 Kg
    2015 Narsingh Pancham Yadav Men’s FS 74 Kg
    2018 Pooja Dhanda Women’s FS 57 Kg

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.