1975 World Cup: When India won First Title!

After finishing 3rd in 1971 and Runners up in 1973, Indians finally emerged winner of Men’s Hockey World Cup in the third event of 1975, held at Malaysia. Playing under captain Ajit Pal Singh, in the first and only all Asian final, Indians edged past 1971 World Cup winner Pakistan. Both teams sufferred only one loss in the tournament. Indians lost one at Pool as they topped the group ahead of West Germany. 1975 World Cup saw one of the worst performances from defending champion, Netherlands, while for the first time hosts failed to enter the final as Malaysians were stopped in extra time by Indians.

1971 and 1973 World Cup Summary

Indian Squad

    Captain: Ajit Pal Singh
    Leslie Fernandez, Ashok Diwan, Surjit Singh, Michael Kindo, Aslam Sher Khan, Varinder Singh, Onkar Singh, Mohinder Singh, Ashok Kumar, B. P. Govinda, Harcharan Singh, Harjinder Singh, Vadivelu Phillips, Shivaji Pawar, BP Kaliah

1975 World Cup Pool Results
In Pool A, Pakistan topped the group with 3 wins and 2 draws, while hosts Malaysia entered their only semifinal with 2 wins, 2 draws and a loss against Pakistan. 1971 World Cup finalist, Spain finished third, New Zealand was 4th, Poland 5th and Netherlands had their worst finish at the bottom with just a win against Spain. They drew Pakistan 3-3 but lost to other three teams.

In Pool B, India and West Germany had similar results with 3 wins, 1 draw and a loss each. But, Indians topped the group with better Goal Difference. Indians won against England (2-1), Ghana (7-0), and Germany (3-1), drew against Australia (1-1) and lost to Argentina (2-1)


    Netherlands def Argentina 5-0
    Poland def Ghana 3-2 (extra time)
    11th Argentina def Ghana 6-0
    9th Netherlands def Poland 3-1


    England def Spain 5-4 (Extra time)
    Australia def New Zealand 5-0
    7th New Zealand def Spain 2-1
    5th Australia def England 3-1


    Pakistan def West Germany 5-1
    India def Malaysia 3-2 (Extra time)


    3rd place: West Germany def Malaysia 4-0
    Final: India def Pakistan 2-1

Goal scoring for India
At Pool B, Philips scored both goals against England, Govinda against Australia, Harcharan against Argentina in loss, Harcharan, Mohinder and Pawar scored a goal each against West Germany, while against Ghana Mohinder scored a hattrick, Surjit, Govinda, Aslam Sher Khan and Ashok Kumar scored a goal each.
In semifinals, Shivaji Pawar, Aslam Sher Khan and Harcharan scored. In final, Surjit and Ashok Kumar scored.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.