Sharath Kamal: The Most Famous Indian Paddler

Kamal is the first-ever Indian paddler to enter the top-50 rank at global level. He received Arjuna Award in 2004. He represented India thrice at Olympics (2004, 2008, 2016).


    Name: Achanta Sharath Kamal
    Birth: 12 July 1982
    Home: Chennai, India
    Parents: A Srinivasa Rao (father) and A Annapoorna (Mother)
    School: PSBB Nungambakkam School, Chennai
    College: Loyola College, Chennai
    Hobby: Playing Guitar
    Height: 6.2 ft
    Weight: 82 Kg
    Current Ranking: 75 (July 2016)
    Highest Ranking: 32 (May 2015)


    1st Indian to win Singles title on the ITTF Pro Tour
    1st Indian to break into top 50 ITTF ranking
    1st Indian to win a Gold Medal in the Commonwealth Championships
    Arjuna Award in 2004
    Captain of the team winning 2004 Commonwealth Games Championship
    Represented India in 2004 Athens Olympics
    Defeated World No. 19 in 2007 Japan Pro Tour first round (lost in 2nd round)
    Only Indian Table Tennis Player selected for Beijing Olympics
    No. 1 in India from 2006 (4 consecutive years)
    First Indian to win Pyongyong Invitational Tournament
    Awarded with Most Valuable player of the Asian Championship held at Lucknow, India.
    Defeated Schlager – former world champion in the singles event KILLER SPIN EXHIBITION MATCH held at US.
    Represented India in the World Championships since 2003-04

International Titles

    2004 Gold for Men’s singles in the 16th Commonwealth table tennis championship (Kuala Lumpur)
    2006 Gold for Men’s singles in the 17th Commonwealth table tennis championship (Melbourne)
    2007 Won Pyongyong Invitational Tournament at North Korea
    2010 US Open Table Tennis Men’s championships (Grand Rapids, Michigan )
    2010 US Open Table Tennis Men’s Team championships (Grand Rapids, Michigan) as a Captain
    2010 Egypt Open table tennis championship
    2013 Sharath and the team also won the Deutsche Pokal


    San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain (Till 2009)
    TVS Grafelfing Munich (2010-12)
    German Bundesliga for the club Borussia Düsseldorf(2013-now)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.