SL Triangular Series: 3rd Choice Skipper and Opener for NZ

Dambulla, Sri Lanka: New Zealand announced the 15-man squad for the triangular series in Sri Lanka, involving the host and India. With the look of the squad, it appears Sri Lanka and India will be playing the finals without much trouble against New Zealand.

Ross Taylor will captain the side with Kyle Mills as his deputy. First-choice Vettori and second-choice Brendum McCullum were given paternity leaves, to refresh for their busy schedule ahead. Thus, Ross Taylor is their third choice captain. Besides that even their opener is third-choice.

Peter Ingram with 6-match One-Day experience has replaced Jesse Ryder as the opener. Elbow injury forced Ryder out of the tournament. Even his replacement Redmond was not available due to his wedding. Thus, New Zealand had no option but to send third-choice opener Ingram.

Final 15-men NZ Squad
Squad: Ross Taylor (capt), Kyle Mills (vice-capt), Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins (wk), Nathan McCullum, Andy McKay, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Peter Ingram, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Daryl Tuffey, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson

Schedule of Triangular Series

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.