First Asian Women’s Hockey Champions Trophy: South Korea is the Asian Champion

Busan, South Korea: The first-ever Women’s Hockey Champions Trophy was organised in Busan, South Korea. Besides the host, China, India and Japan participated. South Korea won the final by defeating Japan. India finished third defeating China.

After the group matches, South Korea and Japan reached the final. The host South Korea defeated Japan 2-1. After half-time they were leading 1-0.

13th ranked India defeated China to win the bronze. Surprisingly the World Number 3 team China finished last in the four nation Asia Cup. For India Saba Anjum and skipper Surinder Kaur struck the goals, while Chinese tasted first blood when wang Mengyu got them in lead. Final result 2-1.

India has lost all the matches at group stage.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.