KKR vs DC Preview: Knight Riders Should Defuse the Chargers

The Knight Riders vs The Chargers team has one similarity. While DC was the strongest team of first three edition, on paper, KKR is the strongest team of 2011.

Deccan Chargers: The Champions With Least Expectation

Kolkata Knight Riders: The Most Unsuccessful Team Seeks Glory

Similarities and Dissimilarities
Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers share the bottom side of the tournament in one of the three editions, but Dc has upper hand in winning the tournament once, while KKR has never reached the semifinal. Both changed captains in first three editions of IPL and now they have new captains. Even the new captains were substititute captains of their earlier IPL teams. Sangakkara captained Kings XI while Gambhri captained Delhi Daredevils.

2011 Edition
Both have lost there first match. While DC lost to their old nemesis Rajasthan Royals very convincingly, while KKR almost won their opening match against defending champion KKR, before they panicked and thrown in the towel.

KKR vs DC Rivalry
The two teams have met six times in three editions. KKR holds an edge winning 4 and losing only 2. Yet, DC can take consolation for 2011 edition in that record of only 2 wins against KKR. While in 2008 and 2010, KKR won both group matches, in 2009 DC won both group matches. Interestingly DC had a strong team in last 3 editions, not KKR had very strong team. Going by law of averages, 2011 may see DC emerging victorious against KKR, although in Twenty20 the match decides the result, not the averages.

Current Chances
KKR is one of the best teams of 2011, while DC is evolving. If KKR can hold their nerve they will thrill their home crowd at Edens and taste first blood. But law of averages can help DC win the match against KKR.

Past Results Against Each Other

    KKR def DC by 7 Wickets
    KKR def DC by 7 Wickets


    DC def KKR by 8 Wickets
    DC def KKR by 6 Wickets


    KKR def DC by 11 Runs
    KKR def DC by 24 Runs

Overall Performances of DC and KKR in Last 3 editions
In the last 3 Editions, they have the same win-loss ration but Deccan Chargers, has been more successful.
KKR – 16 Wins, 24 Losses, 2 No Result
DC – 19 Win, 27 Losses

2008 Edition
Deccan Chargers came as the strongest and performed the worst in IPL history by winning only 2 matches and losing 12 matches, the most by any team in IPL history.
KKR lost 50% of their matches, winning 6 and one produced no result.

2009 edition was the worst for KKR, when they lost 10 matches out of 14 played, whereas DC went on become the champion winning 9 of the 16 matches they played.

2010 saw DC reaching the semifinal, finishing 4th while KKR could not reach semifinal even in their third attempt leaving them as the only IPL team to have not been able to qualify for semifinals in three editions.

Deccan Chargers (DC)
Batsman: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain/Keeper), Jean-Paul Duminy, Michael Lumb, Kevin Pietersen, Anand Rajan, Kedar Devdhar, Shikhar Dhawan, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Jaydev Shah, Arjun Yadav
Allrounder: Chris Lynn, Rusty Theron, Cameron White, Ashish Reddy
Bowlers: Dale Steyn, Daniel Christian, Ankit Sharma, Akash Bhandari, Bharat Chipli, Manpreet Gony, Harmeet Singh, Ishank Jaggi, Ishan Malhotra, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Sunny Sohal

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
Batsman: Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Brad Haddin (WK), Eoin Morgan, Manvinder Bisla, Shreevats Goswami, Laxmi Shukla, Manoj Tiwary,
Allrounder: Jacques Kallis, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan,
Bowlers: Brett Lee, James Pattinson, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaidev Unadkat, Shami Ahmed, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Rajat Bhatia, Sarabjit Ladda, Iqbal Abdulla,

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.