Match 14 Preview: Kings and Challengers Seek Winning Path

Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore will see two teams desperate to return to winning ways. Both won their first match. CSK lost their second, while RCB lost their next two. The two top-most teams of IPL seek redemption to resume their winning campaign.

Both have been phenomenal in IPL. While CSK has a consistent run in IPL, RCB has to reform itself after poor performance in inaugral edition. Since then they have been in final once and finished 3rd in last edition. Between them they have always played tough matches with 92 run win by CSK against RCB being the most one-sided match in 7 clashes, yet RCB has edge with more wins.

2011 Performances
CSK started strong posting a win against strong Kolkata Knight Riders, but Valthaty-led Kings XI shocked them in second match.
RCB won a close match against freshers Kochi XI, but were thumped by Mumbai Indians first and then Deccan Chargers, who registered their first-ever victory at home, Hyderabad.

Head-to-Head: RCB 4, CSK 3
RCB has registered more victories over CSK. The battle of Southern empire between them and Deccan Chargers have been very close.

Past Results

    CSK def RCB by 13 Runs
    RCB def CSK by 14 Runs


    CSK def RCB by 92 Runs
    RCB def CSK by 2 Wickets
    RCB def CSK by 6 Wickets


    RCB def CSK by 36 Runs
    CSK def RCB by 5 Wickets

2008 Performances
CSK won 9 and lost 7 before losing in the nail-biting final against Rajasthan Royals.
RCB had a forgettable year winning just 4 and losing 10 matches. Termed as test team of IPL they finished 2nd from the bottom.

2009 Performances
CSK Reached the semifinal where Royal Challengers knocked them out. They won 8, lost 6 and 1 match produced no result.
RCB’s best tournament, reaching the final, produced 9 wins and 7 losses for them.

2010 Performances
With 9 wins and 7 losses, CSK finally won the championship.
RCB finished 3rd winning and losing 8 matches each.

Overall IPL performance
CSK is the best team of IPL in terms of result, reaching knockout in all editions, and Fairplay also, winning Kingfisher Fairplay twice. RCB can be termed as 3rd best after CSK and Deccan Chargers, reaching knockout twice and losing in final once.
Till 2010 edition, CSK has 26 wins and 22 losses with 1 abandoned match, whereas RCB has won 25 and lost 25 matches.

Who Will Win Today!!
While RCB with more wins against CSK would be certain to continue that, CSK would be looking at levelling their clash to 4-4 with a win. Both need the win desperately. CSK may decide to play Mike Hussey and Bollinger, who has arrived after a successful ODI series against Bangladesh. RCB has tough choices to make as they have lost two consecutive games, after winning the first match. CSK playing at home has an edge, specially with the arrival of Bollinger.

Key Battles
Zaheer & Vettori vs Raina/Vijay/Dhoni
The Indians will battle will out. Zaheer has a tiring season, yet against DC in the absence of Nannes he took the battle alone to the opposition, although in a lost cause. Vettori is economical but is unable to break into opposition. Vijay has played devastating knock against Kings XI, although again in a lost cause. Dhoni is continuing the good run of World Cup behind and in front of wicket. Raina is one of the best IPL batsman and he can be the player to watch. The battle between the trio of CSK and duo of RCB will seal the fate of the match.

Bollinger/Southee vs Dilshan/AB de Villiers/Virat Kohli
Bollinger or Southee that is the tough call for CSK. They may go with both. With both being in good form, one of them or both together can pose tough questions to the strong RCB line up. Dilshan is looking out of touch. AB de Villiers just scored a duck after a match winning knock. Virat Kohli tried his best but could not reach the high target of DC. Overall the trio is showing good nick. But, if Bollinger/Southee manages to get two of them, CSK will have an edge.

RCB Squad
Batsman: AB de Villiers (WK), Luke Pomersbach, Rilee Rossouw, Saurabh Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Muralidharen Gautam, Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Asad Pathan, Cheteshwar Pujara,
Allrounder: Daniel Vettori (Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Jonathan Vandiar
Bowlers: Dirk Nannes, Charl Langeveldt, Johan van der Wath, Zaheer Khan, Sreenath Aravind, Arun Karthik, BN Bharath, Raju Bhatkal, Nuwan Pradeep, Abrar Kazi, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ryan Ninan

CSK Squad
Batsmen: Dhoni (Captain), Faf du Plessis, Michael Hussey, Srikkanth Anirudha, Subramaniam Badrinath, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Murali Vijay
Allrounders: Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Scott Styris, Suresh Raina, Yo Mahesh
Bowlers: Tim Southee, Doug Bollinger, Ben Hilfenhaus, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, George Bailey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Abhinav Mukund, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.