Match 26 Preview: After Knocking Champs, Kings Await Semifinalists DD

Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils meet in their 5th match. While Kings appears the most improved team, Delhi Daredevils is looking devastated at the bottom. Kings have already swallowed 3 IPL winners for starters, can they feast on twin semifinalists Delhi Daredevils now!! Or Finally will Sehwag show his class in IPL 2011 too!!

The teams have played 6 matches and despite DD reaching semifinal twice, and Kings XI having reached the semifinal only once, Kings XI has won 4 matches while 2 matches were won by DD.

2011 Team Performance
Kings XI, initially appearing the weakest team, shot into prominence with big wins. They first surprised 2010 champtions Chennai Super Kings at home, and then defeated 2009 champions Deccan Chargers. They earlier lost to Pune Warriors. Continuing their inspirational form, Kings XI humiliated Royals.

Delhi Daredevils had their own problem. First Mumbai Indians sent them to school by blowing them away with Malinga Special that led DD score their second below 100 score in IPL. When it appeared against Royals they will have some clue, Warne’s boys also scored clinical thumping victory. Being at bottom, when hopes were about to shatter completely, Daredevils registered emphatic victory over tournament topper Pune Warriors India. But against Deccan Chargers, they played an ordinary game and lost due to poor bowling.

Player’s Performance in 2011
For Delhi, player’s performance index is showing improvement. Venugopal has got Warner as company in the 100-run scoring club now. Although other batsmen, including Sehwag are still to give good scores. Their bowlers have been disappointing so far, with just 15 wickets taken in 4 matches.

Kings XI player performance index indicates how dependent they are on Valthaty. He is the current Orange Cap holder and scored 246 runs in 3 matches. Gilchrist is second highest scorer with 109 runs (see Kings XI player performance). Overall their bowling has improved taking 22 wickets in 4 matches.

Head-to-Head: KXIP 4, DD 2

    KXIP def DD by 4 Wickets
    KXIP def DD by 6 Runs


    DD def KXIP by 10 Wickets
    KXIP def DD by 6 Wickets


    DD def KXIP by 5 Wickets
    KXIP def DD by 7 Wickets

2008 Performances
Both reached the semifinal and lost. Kings XI won 10 matches and lost 5. DD won 7 and lost 7, while one match was abandoned.

2009 Performances
DD reached 2nd semifinal winning 9 and losing 7, Kings XI could not reach the semifinal and had even results, winning 7 and losing 7.

2010 Performances
Both gave their worst performances. While Delhi Daredevils could win 7 and lose 7, Kings XI won 4 and lost 10.

Overall Performance
Two-time semifinalist DD has a positive ratio with 23 wins and 21 losses, with 1 no result, while Kings XI has won 21 matches and lost 22.

Who Will Win Today
Delhi Daredevils have almost a must-win situation now. A defeat more and they will be looking down the barrel to find the exit. The pitch has been tailormade for DD bowlers to shine. Considering the current form Kings XI is the favorite, yet considering home advantage Delhi Daredevils should emerge the winner and leave their bottom position in the group.

Key Battles
Morkel and co vs Gilchrist\Valthaty\Marsh
The contest will define the result of the match. So far ineffective Morkel and other DD bowlers have the best chance to let their team give a glimpse of survival in the competition. Marsh has joined the batting party of Gilchrist and Valthaty, and the three together are the most dared trio of competition.

Sehwag/Warner/Rao vs Praveen Kumar and co
When will Sehwag fire!! If Sehwag and Warner can give a terrific start, Kings XI will have to do much more than expected to win the match. Venugopal Rao is their best batsmen and Kings XI bowling is not much effective, although they are better than Delhi bowlers, in terms of success in last 4 matches.

DD Squad
Batsman: Sehwag (Captain), Aaron Finch, Colin Ingram, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Naman Ojha (WK),
Allrounder: Travis Birt, Robert Frylinck, James Hopes, Irfan Pathan, Venugopal Rao,
Bowlers: Morne Morkel, Andrew McDonald, Roelof van der Merwe, Ajit Agarkar, Varun Aaron, Robin Bist, Unmukt Chand, Ajit Chandila, Ashok Dinda, Shahbaz Nadeem, Yogesh Nagar, Prashant Naik, Rajesh Pawar, Aavishkar Salvi, Sridharan Sriram, Vikas Mishra, Tejashwi Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Vivek Yadav

Kings XI Squad
Batsman: Adam Gilchrist (Captain/Keeper), Shaun Marsh, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Vikramjeet Malik, Nitin Saini
Allrounders: David Hussey, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Mandeep Singh
Bowlers: Stuart Broad, Ryan Harris, Ryan McLaren, Nathan Rimmington, Love Ablish, Praveen Kumar, Amit Yadav, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Siddharth Chitnis, Paras Dogra, Shalabh Srivastava, Sunny Singh, Paul Valthaty

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.