Match 7 preview DD vs RR: Are Daredevils Up For Royal Show!

Rajsthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils sets up the fight between two teams that have interesting history in IPL. RR has won it once, and then become average performers. DD has reached semifinal twice, and mellowed down in 2010. Going by past history, Daredevils have an edge, but the revamped look gives Royals the edge.

Both the teams have played 7 matches in last 3 IPL editions. Delhi has won 4 and Rajasthan has won 3 of them. Delhi has given Royals the biggest thrashing of 9 wickets in their first-ever match in 2008, but then Royals made up with a massive 105 runs victory over Daredevils in the semifinal of same edition.

2011 Performances
Rajasthan Royals registered emphatic 8 wicket victory over Deccan Chargers. Delhi Daredevils were routed by the strong Mumbai Indians.

Past Matches Results: DD 4, RR 3

    DD def RR by 9 Wickets
    RR def DD by 3 Wickets
    RR def DD by 105 Rruns


    RR def DD by 5 Wickets
    DD def RR by 14 Runs


    DD def RR by 6 Wickets
    DD def RR by 67 Runs

IPL Performances

    In 2008, RR recorded 13 wins and 3 losses in their winning campaign. DD on the other hand reached semifinal, Won 7 and lost 7, while one match was abandoned.
    In 2009, RR went down with 5 wins and 8 losses, and one no result. DD, on the other hand, again reached semifinal, winning 9 and losing 7. Interestingly, the teams against which Delhi lost in semifinals went on to win the tournament on both occasions.
    IN 2010, RR won 6 and lost 8, while DD won 7 and lost 7 and failed to reach 3rd consecutive semifinals.

Who can Win!
A tough call to make between these two teams. Yet, DD holds an edge, even by its weaker look of revamped team. In 2009 and 2010, DD has won 3 out of 4 matches played. But the team is completely different now and going by their respective first matches against Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians, RR appears more composed, while DD appears to be completely dependent on Sehwag.

Interesting Contest
Botha, Warne Vs Sehwag, if Sehwag persists beyond 6th over. DD bowling holds an edge over RR. Even for Naman Ojha it would be a personal battle against his old teammates. In the first match he showed good temperament. If he can carry it forward, coupled with Sehwag’s and DD’s bowling good performances, RR is in for its first loss, and DD would taste first win.

Ross Taylor vs Morne Morkel would be another deciding contest in the matches. Both are in good form and both team needs them for victory.

Delhi Daredevils (DD)
Batsman: Sehwag (Captain), Aaron Finch, Colin Ingram, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Naman Ojha (WK),
Allrounder: Travis Birt, Robert Frylinck, James Hopes, Irfan Pathan, Venugopal Rao,
Bowlers: Morne Morkel, Andrew McDonald, Roelof van der Merwe, Ajit Agarkar, Varun Aaron, Robin Bist, Unmukt Chand, Ajit Chandila, Ashok Dinda, Shahbaz Nadeem, Yogesh Nagar, Prashant Naik, Rajesh Pawar, Aavishkar Salvi, Sridharan Sriram, Vikas Mishra, Tejashwi Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Vivek Yadav

Rajasthan Royals (RR)
Batsman: Ross Taylor, Rahul Dravid, Swapnil Asnodkar, Amit Singh, Ankeet Chavan,
Aakash Chopra, Faiz Fazal, Amit Paunikar, Ajinkya Rahane, Pinal Shah (WK), Dishant Harendra Yagnik (WK)
Allrounder: Shane Watson, Paul Collingwood, Dinesh Salunkhe
Bowlers: Shane Warne (Captain), Shaun Tait, Stuart Binny, Aditya Dole, Nayan Doshi, Samad Fallah, Ashok Menaria, Sumit Narwal, Pankaj Singh, Abhishek Raut, Siddharth Trivedi

1 Comment

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am inspired! Very useful information particularly the remaining phase 🙂 I maintain such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.