Match Preview 20: The Royal Battle between Warne and Vettori!!

Playing first-time against each other in 2011, both the teams seek victory coming from huge losses. Both have been equal teams so far, who will take the edge now, when it is desperate times for both!!

Both have seen the highs and lows in IPL. While Rajasthan Royals have won the tournament in 2008, Royal Challengers Bangalore has been in the final once and were stopped in semifinal in 2010. Even among each other they share 3-wins each. Interestingly last two matches were won by Challengers.

2011 Performances
RCB is on a losing streak with 3 consecutive losses after winnning the first game against Kochi Tuskers. In the second match they were thumped by Mumbai Indians. Then failed to chase high target against Deccan Chargers, and lost without fight against Chennai Super Kings.
Without the services of fiery Watson, who was Player of the Tournament in 2008, Royals have produced two emphatic wins. They drubbed their prey Deccan Chargers easily and then went on to thump Delhi Daredevils. But after that they had to play two back-to-back matches against Kolkata Knight Riders. In third match, their record of defending totals above 145 runs was broken against KKR, and in fourth match at Edens, they scored the third-ever lowest score of IPL, losing it againt to KKR.

Player’s Performances in 2011
Bangalore batsmen are coming in form, with AB de Villiers and Kohli already scoring above 100 runs. Dilshan has also scored a century. Zaheer has been the pick of the bowlers with 5-wickets in the absence of Nannes. Overall they have taken 16 wickets in 4 matches.
Rajasthan has three batsmen in 100-club, but two of them did not play in the last match. Their bowling has been impressive with 16 wickets in 3 matches.


    RR def RCB by 7 Wickets
    RR def RCB by 65 runs


    RCB def RR by 75 Runs
    RR def RCB by 7 Wickets


    RCB def RR by 10 Wickets
    RCB def RR by 5 Wickets

IPL Performances

    In 2008, on their way to championship RR won record 13 matches and lost just 3, while RCB finished second from the bottom winning 4 matches and Lost 10.
    In 2009, RCB finished 2nd best registering 9 wins and 7 losses.South Africa did not suit RR and they managed just 5 wins, Lost 8, and 1 was abandoned.
    In 2010, RCB finished 3rd winning 8 and losing 8 games, while RR again failed to enter knockout and could win only 6 and Lost 8 matches.

Overall Performance
RR has a positive win loss ratio, making them one of the successful teams of IPL in last three editions. They have Won 24, Lost 19, and one match was abandoned.
Due to the poor performance in 2008, RCB has more losses than wins, winning 21 and losing 25.

Who Will Win Today!!
Both the teams are equally placed and both lack confidence due to consecutive losses. Now, the big question is who can recover fast from the shock of losses. RCB has the edge, as unlike RR they are not 2-man team and they do not have any continuous capatain’s dilemma in selecting best XI.

Key Battles
Watson vs Zaheer
Royals has been literally praying for Watson’s good form. If he clicks no bowling attack can stop him. Zaheer’s spell will be crucial. If he can do what Balaji of KKR did, he can literally won the match for his team.

Dilshan/AB/Kohli vs Tait and Co
The fast bowlers of RR have impressed. Tait, Trivedi and Singh have a good record so far. Watson joining them has strengthened the bowling attack. But RCB is not one-man army. If two of the three marauders – Dilshan, AB de Villiers and Kohli succeeds, RR would be sent home before the final overs.

RCB Squad
Batsman: AB de Villiers (WK), Luke Pomersbach, Rilee Rossouw, Saurabh Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Muralidharen Gautam, Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Asad Pathan, Cheteshwar Pujara,
Allrounder: Daniel Vettori (Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Jonathan Vandiar
Bowlers: Dirk Nannes, Charl Langeveldt, Johan van der Wath, Zaheer Khan, Sreenath Aravind, Arun Karthik, BN Bharath, Raju Bhatkal, Nuwan Pradeep, Abrar Kazi, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ryan Ninan

Rajasthan Royals Squad
Batsman: Ross Taylor, Rahul Dravid, Swapnil Asnodkar, Amit Singh, Ankeet Chavan, Aakash Chopra, Faiz Fazal, Amit Paunikar, Ajinkya Rahane, Pinal Shah (WK), Dishant Harendra Yagnik (WK)
Allrounder: Shane Watson, Paul Collingwood, Dinesh Salunkhe
Bowlers: Shane Warne (Captain), Shaun Tait, Stuart Binny, Aditya Dole, Nayan Doshi, Samad Fallah, Ashok Menaria, Sumit Narwal, Pankaj Singh, Abhishek Raut, Siddharth Trivedi

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.