Match Preview 21: Sachin-led Indians against Yuvraj’s India!!

Mumbai Indians game against Pune Warriors is the opportunity for both to restore pride. Both have started the tournament with a bang, winning first two matches convincingly before being outdone by teams placed in bottom half in high run chases.

Pune Warriors being the new team in the block, there is no team history. Yet, the individuals know each other very well having played in the international and local arena together or against each other. Pune Warriors captain, Yuvraj Singh, will lead his team against his idol, Sachin Tendulkar’s Mumbai Indians. The battle of emotion against the battle for victory will be interesting and can be tough for both captains personally. Uthappa, now with Pune Warriors has also played one season for Mumbai Indians. Malinga and Ryder will renew their IPL battle, after facing each other playing for their national teams.

2011 Performances
Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Daredevils in first match by 8 wickets, after bundling them below 100. Against Royal Challengers Banglore Mumbai Indians bowler laid the ground for a low chase, and batsmen ensured another emphatic victory by 9 wickets. But, in the home match against fresher Kochi Tuskers, despite scoring high total batting first for the first time, the bowlers failed to defend.

Pune Warriors also had a similar tale to tell. Both matches they won batting second, but lost third match in high scoring game when they had to defend. In the first match they defeated Kings XI by 7-wickets, while in 2nd match defeated Kochi Tuskers by 4-wickets. But, against Delhi Daredevils at home, their bowlers failed to defend the high total.

Player’s Performances
Mumbai Indians top order batsmen and bowlers have shown exceptional high in player’s performance index. Sachin is the Orange cap holder, while Malinga is the Purple Cap holder. Rayudu has also joined the 100-club scoring 135 runs. But other batsmen have not got much opportunity. MI bowlers have taken 14 wickets in 3 matches.

Pune Warrior’s player performance index is not so high-profile. Ryder is the only batsmen in 100-plus club, while Yuvraj needs 5 more runs to get there. But their bowlers have taken more wickets than any other team, earning 19 wickets in just 3 matches.

Who Will Win Today!!
If Sachin or Rayudu can be kept quite, Pune Warriors have a good chance, unless Malinga agains succeeds with a 5-wicket haul. Pune Warriors has better bowling unit, as Mumbai has just Malinga as wickettaker bowler. Even in batting batsmen at different level have looked in decent form for Pune Warriors whereas for Mumbai Indians, most of the batsmen except top 4 have not even been tested, which can backfire in crunch situation. Pune Warriors should win the match easily.

Key Battles
Sachin vs Pune Bowlers
Can any Pune Bowlers do what the bowlers from Delhi, Bangalore and Kochi have failed to do!! Sachin is yet to be sent back to pavillion by opposition, and has played three undefeated innings already. Although his remainig undefeated may not result into his team’s victory, as Kochi TUskers showed winning despite his century, but if Pune can get his wicket early, Mumbai Indians may not cross 150 mark or 120.

Ryder vs Malinga
Ryder is in good form. Malinga is cracking all. Success of both players will determine the success of respective teams. Malinga is slowing down, as Kochi match showed. Ryder is on a high.

Yuvraj vs Mumbai Bowlers
Sachin may use Rohit Sharma, Murtaza and Harbhajan to get the most prized wicket of Pune Warriors, if Malinga fails to do so. But, Yuvraj in current form may take Mumbai bowlers for a joy ride and hit their balls easily towards Indian Ocean.

Mumbai Indians Squad
Batsman: Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Ambati Rayudu, Rajagopal Sathish, Rohit Sharma, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare (WK), Davy Jacobs (WK)
Allrounder: James Franklin, Moises Henriques, Kieron Pollard, Andrew Symonds
Bowlers: Aiden Blizzard, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel, Abu Nechim, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sarul Kanwar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ali Murtaza, Pawan Suyal, Santosh Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav

Pune Warrior Squad
Batsman: Yuvraj Singh (Captain), Mitchell Marsh, Callum Ferguson, Tim Paine (WK), Graeme Smith, Manish Pandey, Eklavya Dwivedi, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Harshad Khadiwale, Mohnish Mishra, Robin Uthappa (WK)
Allrounder: Nathan McCullum, Angelo Mathews, Jesse Ryder, Mithun Manhas
Bowlers: Wayne Parnell, Jerome Taylor, Alfonso Thomas, Ashish Nehra, Imtiyaz Ahmed, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shrikant Mundhe, Sachin Rana, Rahul Sharma, Shrikant Wagh

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.