Royal Challengers Bangalore: Getting Younger to Win the Cup

Royal Challengers Bangalore was tagged as the test team of IPL 2008. Now, they have the team full with young guns.

Player’s Performances in 2011

The criticism after 2008 edition turned the team upside-down in 2009. The massive changes helped as the team reached the final in 2009, and also the finished 3rd in 2010, making them the third most-successful team after Chennai Super Kings and Deccan Chargers in the last three editions of IPL. Now, eyeing the cup, they have filled the team with young turks. They have the cheapest captain, and a good mix of bowlers and batsmen – experienced and young to get the elusive cup in 2011.

They had some glorious performances, Manish Pandey became the first Indian to hit IPL century, Kumble with 5/5 provided the second best bowling performance of IPL, best by any Indian bowler.

2008 Performance: Won 4, Lost 10
Finishing second from the bottom, they could win both matches against Deccan Chargers, who finished last in the group. They also won one match each against Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians.

2009 Performance: 9 win, 7 loss
With the loss in the final, their 16th match of the edition, they had lost only 7 matches in the tournament. They won both group matches against Kolkata Knight Riders, were even with other six teams with one win and one loss. At knockout, the won semifinal against Chennai Super Kings and lost the final to Deccan Chargers.

2010 Performance: Won 8, Lost 8
The equal win and losses took them to 3rd place. They lost both group matches to Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers, whom they defetard in 3rd place playoff in knockout. They won both group matches against Kings XI and Rajasthan Royals. With Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians they were even at group stage. Mumbai Indians knocked them out in semifinals.

Overall Performance: Won 21, Lost 25
From test team to being the 3rd best team of IPL in just three edition is a major achievement. With the young guns their win and loss ratio should get more wins this season. The young guns led by retained Virat Kohli and find of 2010 Saurabh Tiwary make them good batting and fielding side too.

Current Hopes
Zaheer Khan and Nannes will not let them miss Steyn. The trio of Delhi Daredevils – Vettori as captain, AB de Villiers and Dilshan, the in-form devastators – now in their squad boost their chance of being at least the semifinalists.

Batsman: AB de Villiers (WK), Luke Pomersbach, Rilee Rossouw, Saurabh Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Muralidharen Gautam, Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Asad Pathan, Cheteshwar Pujara,
Allrounder: Daniel Vettori (Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Jonathan Vandiar
Bowlers: Dirk Nannes, Charl Langeveldt, Johan van der Wath, Zaheer Khan, Sreenath Aravind, Arun Karthik, BN Bharath, Raju Bhatkal, Nuwan Pradeep, Abrar Kazi, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ryan Ninan

Auctioned Players
Saurabh Tiwary $1,600,000
AB de Villiers $1,100,000
Zaheer Khan $900,000
Cheteshwar Pujara $700,000
Dirk Nannes $650,000
Tillakaratne Dilshan $650,000
Daniel Vettori $550,000
Abhimanyu Mithun $260,000
Charl Langeveldt $140,000
Mohammad Kaif $130,000
Johan van der Wath $50,000
Luke Pomersbach $50,000
Rilee Rossouw $20,000
Nuwan Pradeep $20,000
Jonathan Vandiar $20,000

Retained Player
Virat Kohli

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.