2014 T20 WC Preview: India vs Pakistan

If one goes by history then India may already consider itself a winner when they play the first match of 2014 T20 World Cup at Bangladesh, against arch rival Pakistan. They have never lost to Pakistan in any format of Cricket World Cup despite trailing in overall Head-to-Head record. Even in the last four T20 World Cups, India has won all the three matches, but all records are meant to be broken, and that will give Pakistan a hope even in a match where history would certainly make them nervous.

2014 T20 WC Schedule and Results
Best T20 Partnerships For and Against India
India Performance in Four World Cups
T20 Batting, Bowling and Team Records Against India

Overall, India has won 4 of the 5 T20 matches they played against Pakistan, including the tied match they won in the World Cup. In the four World Cups, they have won all the three matches.

In 2007 they first defeated Pakistan in the tied match at group stage and then won the final by 5 runs. In 2012, India registered an easy 8 wickets win at Super Eight stage.

Pakistan Performance in T20 World Cup
T20 Batting, Bowling and Team Record Against Pakistan
T20 Highest Partnerships For and Against Pakistan

While Dhoni was the captain in all the matches for India, for Pakistan Shoaib Malik was the captain in 2007 World Cup final, and Mohammad Hafeez in 2012.

2007 World Cup Group Match
MOM: Mohammad Asif
This was the match which saw India winning by 3-0, instead of runs or wickets. Sent to bat first, India could score only 141/9. Uthappa with 39-ball 50 runs was the leading scorer with Dhoni scoring 31-ball 33 runs. For Pakistan Mohammad Asif wrecked the Indians with 4/18. Afridi had 2/37, while Yasir Arafat (1/39) and debutant Sohail Tanvir (1/18) were also among the wickets. Umar Gul was the only bowler who failed to get wickets with 0/27.

The easy chase got a jolt when Pakistan were tottering at 4/47 and then 5/87 in 15 overs. But Misbah brought them to a tie with 35-ball 53 runs. Pakistan scored 141/7 and the match went for the tie. For India 2/20 with the only maiden of the match made Irfan Pathan the most successful bowler. RP Singh had 1/23, Harbhajan 1/32, Agarkar 1/35, but Sreesanth went wicketless with 0/29.

Being unaware of the rules that needed bowlers to bowl at the wicket without any batsmen playing, Pakistani top bowlers failed to hit the stump in three attempts, while all the three Indian bowlers hit the stump and India won 3-0.

2007 World Cup Final Match
MOM: Irfan Pathan
They met again in the final and with 54-ball 75 runs from opener Gambhir, India scored 157/5. Rohit Sharma batting at No. 6 scored unbeaten 30 runs of 16 balls. For Pakistan Umar Gul was the most successful bowler with 3/28. Asif had 1/25 and Tanvir had 1/29. Afridi, Hafeez and Arafat went wicketless.

In reply Pakistan were bowled out for 152 with 3 balls remaining. Opener Imran Nazir scored 14-ball 33 runs, Younis Khan run-a-ball 24 runs, but the face saver was Misbah again with 38-ball 43 runs. He almost won the final for them before getting caught in hurry as he ran short of partners. With 6/77 in 11.4 overs Pakistan were set for a loss, but Misbah fought hard, unfortunately all alone.

For India with 3/16 Irfan Pathan was again the most successful bowler while with 3/26 RP Singh was also effective. Sreesanth bowled the only maiden over of the match but went for 44 runs for his only wicket. Joginder Sharma was the hero of the match as he bowled the last over and finished with 2/20.

2012 World Cup
MOM: Virat Kohli
In 2012, Pakistan lost meekly as Balaji (3/22), Ashwin (2/16), Yuvraj (2/16) bundled them out for 128 in 19.4 overs. Irfan Pathan had 1/30, while Kohli had 1/21. Zaheer Khan went wicketless. For Pakistan Shoaib Malik (28) and Umar Akhmal (21) were the key scorers.

Indian batsmen did not give them much chance. Gambhir was bowled again on duck on 2nd ball of the match but first in the company of Sehwag (29 runs) and then unbeaten company of Yuvraj (19 runs), Virat Kohli (61-ball 78 runs) took India home with 3 overs remaining, India winning by 8 wickets. For Pakistan Raza Hasan had 1/22 while Afridi had 1/34.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.