BWF Super Series Masters Records

Malaysia has ruled the Men’s Singles, China has ruled the Women’s Singles, while Denmark has ruled the Men’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles. Christinna Pedersen of Denmark is the most unique player of the tournament. Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia, Christinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter Juhl (Both from Denmark) have won maximum 4 titles. The Danish women hold unique records, while there have been four events where hattrick of wins have been achieved by players. Read about other interesting statistics and records related to the last 6 editions.

History and Winners of Super Series Masters
Statistics of Indian Players


    9 Countries have won at least won at least one title in 45 Finals of last 9 editions since 2008.
    China leads with 16 titles, Denmark and Malaysia follow with 9 medals each. 3 for Japan, 2 each for South Korea, Indonesia, Chinese Taipei and 1 each for Hong Kong and England.
    No country has swept all 5 titles. But, 4 each by Malaysia in 2008 and 2009, once by China in 2011 has been the most by a nation in one year.
    Christinna Pedersen is the only player to win two titles in the same year.
    Christinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter Juhl of Denmark have won titles in two different events. They have won together in Women’s Doubles and separately in Mixed Doubles.
    Maximum 4 Titles: Christinna Pedersen, Kamilla Rytter Juhl (Denmark) and Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia)
    Hattricks of Wins: Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) from 2008-2010 in Men’s Singles.
    2 Individual Titles: Li Xuerei in Women’s Singles won 2012 and 2013 titles. Long Chen in 2012 and 2014 Men’s Singles.
    Wong Pei Tty/Chin Eei Hui of Malaysian won two Women’s Doubles title in 2008 and 2009.
    Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen of Denmark won Men’s Doubles from 2010-2012.
    Wang Xiaoli and Yu Yang won Women’s Doubles from 2010-2012.
    Joachim Fischer Nielsen and Christinna Pedersen (Denmark) have won thrice too, but its not a hattrick as they won in 2009, 2012 and 2013.
    7 finals between players from same countries

      2008 Women’s Singles: All Hong Kong Final: Zhou Mi def Wang Chen
      2010 Women’s Doubles: All Chinese final
      2011 Men’s Singles: All Chinese Final where Lin Dan def Long Chen 21-12 21-16
      2011 Women’s Doubles: All Chinese final
      2012 Men’s Singles: All Chinese Final where Long Chen def Du Pengyu 21-12 21-13
      2012 Women’s Doubles: All Chinese final
      2014 Mixed Doubles: All Chinese final

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.