Past Winners of Badminton Super Series Masters Final

Badminton World Federation (BWF) organizes Super Series Masters Final in the last month of every year since 2008 where top 8 ranked players compete to decide the Master of the year in all the five events. Planned to start in 2007, the Masters series started in 2008 and since then it has been played every year. At the end of 2016 Dubai Superseries Finals, China has won maximum 16 titles, while Denmark and Malaysia have won 9 titles each in the last 9 editions.

BWF Super Series Masters Records and Statistics
Statistics of Indian Players

Men’s Singles
Malaysia 4, China 3, Japan 1, Denmark 1
Malaysia and China rule the Men’s Singles. Lee Chong Wei has won 4 titles, while Long Chen (2012, 2014) and Lin Dan (2011) won three titles for China. Kento Momota became one of the first two champions from Japan winning 2015 title. In 2016, Viktor Axelsen became first from Denmark to win the Singles title.

Women’s Singles
China 4, Chinese Taipei 2, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Japan 1 each
Chinese Women have won 4 consecutive titles. Li Xuerei won in 2012 and 2013, while Wang Yihan (2011) and Wang Shixian (2010) won other two titles for China. Wong Mew Choo (Malaysia) won the title in 2009 when Chinese Players did not participate. Zhou Mi (Hong Kong) won the inaugural tournament. Nozomi Okuhara, with Momota, made it a Japanese sweep in Singles of 2015 series. Tzu Ying Tai (Taipei) won the 2014 and 2016 title.

Men’s Doubles
3 Denmark 2 each Korea, Malaysia and Indonesia
Malaysian pair of Tan Boon Heong and Koo Kien Keat won the first title.
Denmark has won 3 of the 9 titles in Men’s Doubles. Pair of Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen won three consecutive titles from 2010-2012. In 2009 Korean pair Jung Jae-sung and Lee Yong-dae won, while in 2008 Malaysian pair Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong emerged as the first Men’s Doubles winners. LEE Yong Dae & YOO Yeon Seong (Korea) won 2014 title. Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Seiawan (Indonesia) are the defending champions. They have won twice, 2015 and 2013. V Shem Goh / Wee Kiong Tan (Malaysia) won in 2016

Women’s Doubles
5 China, 2 Malaysia, 1 each Denmark and Japan
Hattrick by Wang Xiaoli / Yu Yang (China) (2010-12)
First 2 titles won by Wong Pei Tty/Chin Eei Hui (Malaysia)
Winning 5 of the 9 titles, China has won three Women’s Doubles title through the pair of Wang Xiaoli and Yu Yang from 2010-2012. Christinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter Juhl of Denmark are the defending champions. Malaysian pair of Wong Pei Tty and Chin Eei Hui won the first two titles in 2008 and 2009. Misaki MATSUTOMO & Ayaka TAKAHASHI (Japan) won 2014 title. Luo Ying/Luo Yu (China) are winners of 2015 series. Qingchen Chen/Yifan Jia (China) won in 2016.

Mixed Doubles
4 each Denmark and China, 1 England
3 titles each for Joachim Fischer Nielsen / Christinna Pedersen (Denmark), Zhang Nan / Zao Yunlei (China)
Thomas Laybourn and Kamilla Rytter Juhl of Denmark won the inaugural title. Chinese pair of Zhang Nan and Zhao Yunlei of China won consecutive titles in 2010 and 2011. Nan Zhang and Yunlei Zhao (China) won 2014 title. Chris Adcock / Gabrielle Adcock won England the first title in any event winning 2015 title. Siwei Zheng/Qingchen Chen (China) won Mixed Doubles title in 2016.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.