Federation Cup: Sania Mirza Leads Indian Women To Group I

Indian women qualified for Group I in Federation Cup for the 2016 event defeating Philippines in the final of Fed Cup Group II Asia/Oceania promotional playoff at Hyderabad. Indian women’s best finish in Federation Cup has been reaching the finals of 2006 Fed Cup Asia/Oceania Zone Group I final. Saina Mirza already holds the record of winning the longest tie break in doubles match of Fed Cup. Can World No. 1 Sania Mirza better the result for India!!

In the Fed Cup Group II Asia/Oceania promotional playoff played from 13-18 April at Hyderabad, the Indian women won the final against Philippines 2-1. Recently crowned World No. 1 in Women’s Doubles, Sania Mirza led the team of Prarthana Thombare, Ankita Raina and Natasha Palha.

Results of Finals vs Philipines

    Singles: Prarthana Thombare def Anna Clarice Patrimonio 6-3, 6-1
    Ankita Raina lost 6-2, 5-7, 5-7 to Katharina Lehnert
    Doubles: Sania Mirza and Prarthana Thombare def Katharina Lehner and Anna Clarice 6-3, 6-3.

In the Promotional Playoff Indian women defeated Turkmenistan.

Results of Group C Matches

    Def Pakistan 3-0
    Def Malaysia 3-0

Indian History in Federation Cup
Indian women played first time in 1977 Federation Cup. After that their second attempt was in 1991. From then on except 1993, Indian women has been participating. But, they have qualified for the Asia/Oceania Group I final only in 2006

In 2004, Manisha Malhotra and Sania Mirza broke the record for playing the longest tiebreak (21-19) in their doubles match against Uzbekistani pair Vlada Ekshibarova and Ivanna Israilova.
Indian women have so far appeared in 24 Federation Cups, played 93, won 51 and lost 42 rubbers.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.