3 Indians and the Tale of Three Below 100 T20 Scores by India

India has already been involved in 4 matches of 2016 where the score was below 2016. Earlier they bowled out three teams below 100, and now they are bowled out at just 79 runs against the Kiwis in the first match of 2016 T20 World Cup, as Indians registered their third below 100 T20 score. Interestingly, all the three matches saw three Indians as the common factor in such matches played in 2008 at Melbourne, 2015 at Cuttack and 2016 at Nagpur. Here is the tale of India’s below 100 T20 totals.

World Cup T20 2016: Complete Schedule and Results
Lowest T20I Score of All Nations

Lowest Score of T20 Facts for India

    5 teams have scored below 100 runs vs India.
    3 teams have scored below 100 runs vs India in 2016.
    Twice India has bowled out other teams below 100 in T20 World Cups.
    80 by England at Colombo in 2012 WC.
    81/9 by UAE at Dhaka in 2016 Asia Cup.
    82 by Sri Lanka at Visakhapatnam in 2016 during Bilateral series.
    83 by Pakistan at Dhaka in 2016 Asia Cup.
    86 by Australia at Dhaka in 2014 WC.

Dhoni has always been the captain of Indian T20 team, since time immemorial. India is top ranked under him. Without doubt even the dubious distinctions were also achieved under him. While he was the captain in all the three T20 matches where India failed to touch triple figure, Rohit Sharma and Harbhajan Singh were also part of all the three teams.

While Harbhajan Singh was not part of Playing XI at Cuttack, he was in the squad. Rohit Sharma and Dhoni played in all the three matches.

Apart from Dhoni, Rohit Sharma is the only player to have been part of all the T20 matches where even opposition has scored below 100 against India. Harbhajan Singh missed just one such match when Aussies were bowled out below 100.

India’s Lowest T20 Score of 74
Indians played the night match on February 1, 2008 at MCG. Besides Irfan Pathan (26 runs), who bated at No. 8, none of the Indian batsmen reached double figures. With 9 runs, Gambhir and Captain Dhoni were joint second highest scorers of the game which under Captain Clarke, Aussies won by 9 wickets with 52 balls remaining.

Rohit Sharma scored 8 runs, and Harbhajan Singh managed just 1 run in the game where Sehwag was run out on a duck and after that Dinesh Karthik (8), Uthapppa (1), Praveen Kumar (6), Sreesanth (0) just collapsed as Ishant Sharma remained unbeaten on 3 runs.

India’s 92 vs South Africa
The T20 superpowers were humiliated at home when played South Africa in the 2nd T20I of the bilateral series at Cuttack. Morne Morkel (3/12), Morris (2/16), Imran Tahir (2/24), Rabada (1/18) bowled them out in just 17.2 overs.

This time, the opener to be run out was Rohit Sharma who scored 22 runs. After Dhawan (11) was out, in Kohli (1) India had another run out. Raina (22) was the joint highest scorer with Rohit, while Rayudu, Harbhajan and B Kumar went on duck. Ashwin (11) was the fourth batsman to reach double figure as captain Dhoni could score just 5 runs. This time Mohit Sharma was unbeaten on 0.

South Africans won by 6 wickets chasing the total with 17 balls remaining. Ashwin with 3/24 did make a match of it but besides Axar Patel (1/17) none other was successful. Harbhajan Singh (0/20 in 4 overs) and Raina (0/12 in 3.1) were economic but score was too low to save the match.

India’s 79 vs New Zealand in 2016 T20 World Cup

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.