Rio 2016: Schedule and Results as Indian Men’s Hockey Team Finish 8th

Indian Men’s Hockey team has reached Rio Olympics with some winning performances after 2012 Olympics where they finished at bottom. Under Sreejesh as the new captain, they look determined to give a good fight to get back to the podium for the first time since 1980 Olympics. India named the squads for the Olympics with nine new faces in the men’s team from last Olympics. It was better than London Olympics as Indian Men’s team finished 8th.

Indian Performance in Every Olympics
History of All Sports Played at Olympics by India
Indian Medals In Olympics: When and Who Got It!!

Indian Teams and Schedule at Rio 2016: Athletics: Men’s, Women’s, Archery, Badminton, Boxing, Golf, Gymnastics, Hockey: Women’s, Judo, Rowing, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting, Wrestling

Schedule for Group Matches
At Group Stage, Indian Men are placed with Argentina, Canada, Germany, Ireland and Netherlands where 4 teams will qualify for Quarterfinals. Check their schedule and history. The top four teams will enter Quarterfinals.
Group Matches: Finished 4th

    Aug 6: India def Ireland 3-2 (1 Raghunath, 2 Rupinder Pal Singh)
    Aug 8: India lost to Germany 1-2 (1 Rupinder Pal Singh)
    Aug 9: India def Argentina 2-1 (1 Chinglensana Singh, Kothajit Singh)
    Aug 11: India lost to Netherlands 1-2 (1 Raghunath)
    Aug 12: India 2-2 Canada (1 Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh)


    Aug 14 Quarterfinals: Ind 1-3 Belgium


    Captain: Sreejesh
    Vice Captain: Sunil
    Rio squad: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, V.R. Raghunath, S.K. Uthappa, P.R. Sreejesh (Captain, GK), Danish Mujtaba, Devinder Walmiki, S.V. Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmiah.

In 2012, Indian Hockey returned to Olympics after failing to qualify for the first time in 2008 Olympics. But, they finished at the bottom, 12th position.

Men’s Hockey team is main medal winner for India at Olympics. Its domination spread from 1928 to 1956 when they won 6 consecutive Gold medals. It was broken with the defeat to Pakistan in 1960 Olympics but they were back to win the Gold medal in 1964 Olympics. After that the downfall started. While in 1968 and 1972 the could win Bronze, in 1976 they could not win any medal for the first time. In 1980 they did win the Gold medal for the Eight time at Moscow Olympics, but after that they have never finished on the podium as Australia and Europeans rose to the top.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.