Hong Kong Open: Saina, Sindhu and 3 Indians in Men’s Singles Enter Round 2

Three of India’s Super Series tournament winners entered second round of Hong Kong Open 2016. As Saina and HS Prannoy took revenge on the players who knocked them out last week at China Open, Hong Kong Open 2016 Round 1 saw two in Women’s Singles and three Indians in Men’s Singles win the first round while Sai Praneeth and Men’s Doubles team were knocked out. China Open champions PV Sindhu, Ajay Jayaram and Sameer Verma also reached 2nd round. Only two Indians have won the title at Hong Kong Open since it started in 1982. Prakash Padukone won the inaugural tournament, while Saina Nehwal won in 2010.

Saina Nehwal is seeded 5th, while the defending champion Marin is the top seed.

Results in 1st Round for Indians

    Saina def Porntip BURANAPRASERTSUK (Thailand) 12-21 21-19 21-17 in 56 minutes.
    PV Sindhu def Susanto (Indonesia) 21-13 21-16 in 32 minutes
    Sameer Verma def Takuma Ueda (Japan) 22-20 21-18 in 51 minutes
    HS Prannoy def Bin Qiao (China) 21-16 21-18 in 48 minutes
    Ajay Jayaram def Anthony Ginting (Indonesia) 21-15 13-21 21-16 in 56 minutes
    Sai Praneeth lost to 3rd seed Jorgensen (Denmark) 21-18 21-18
    Men’s Doubles
    Manu Attri/Sumeeth Reddy lost 21-15 21-8 to Korean pair

Round 2 Schedule on Nov 24

    HS Prannoy vs Wei Feng Chong (Malaysia)
    Sameer Verma vs Sakai Kazumasa (Japan)
    Ajay Jayaram vs Yuxiang Huang (China)
    Saina Nehwal vs Sayaka Sato (Japan)
    PV Sindhu vs Hsu Ya Ching (Taipei)

Rivalry vs 2nd Round Opponents

    Prannoy has defeated Chong in their only career meet at Denmark OOpen 2016.
    Ajay Jayaram has won both times against Yuxiang, once at Korea Open 2016 and before that at Canada Open 2015.
    Saina has defeated Sato in 5 out of 6 times they met, including at Swiss Oen 2016.
    Sindhu lost her only career meet to Ching in Indonesia Cup 2015.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.