Malaysian Masters Challenge: Saina Defends Sindhu’s Title, Helps India Win Third Title

Saina Nehwal Malaysian Masters Challenge 2017

Leading a huge squad of Indians, Saina Nehwal grabbed her first title after her return from surgery as she won Women’s Singles event of Malaysian Masters Challenge 2017. With the win, she added one more Malaysian masters Title to Indian kitty, as PV Sindhu had won before in 2013 and 2016. Ranked top seed at the event, she won her 23rd International title. In other events, two more top seeds won, while mixed doubles was won by 2nd seed and Men’s Doubles saw unseeded champion. India, Hong Kong, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia won one event each in the final that saw two Malaysian teams, one Hong Kong team, one from Thailand and Korea each finish Runners up.

List of Saina Nehwal’s International Titles
Indian Performance at Malaysian Masters Challenge 2017

Results in Final

    WS top seed Saina Nehwal def Pornpawee (Thailand) 22-20 22-20 in 46 minutes
    MS top seed NG Ka Long Angus (Hong Kong) won against 5th seed 14-21 21-15 10-9 Retired in 49 minutes
    WD top seed Jongkolphan/Rawinda (Thailand) def Poon/Suet 21-17 21-9 in 33 minutes
    XD 2nd seed Kian/Pei (Malaysia) def Goh Soon/Shevon (Malaysia) 21-17 21-9 in 35 minutes
    MD Berry/Hardianto (Indonesia) def Goh Fei/Nur (Malaysia) 21-19 21-12 in 44 minutes

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.