Malaysian Masters Day 2: Won 7, Lost 9, Tough Round Ahead for Indian Doubles Tomorrow

Manu Attri Sumeeth Reddy

Day 2 had a mixed bag of result for Indian shuttlers. While top seed Saina Nehwal sailed with easy win, 3rd seed Men’s Doubles pair of Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy and 6th seed Ajay Jayaram were stretched to final set in their respective 1st round wins. Sumeeth lost Mixed Doubles with Ashwini, who is knocked out of her first tournament of the year after giving walkover in Women’s Doubles (With Sikki Reddy), but Manu moved to second round with Jwala Gutta. Prajakta Sawant was the another Indian to win Mixed Doubles as well as her Women’s Doubles today. Overall nine matches saw Indians losing, while in seven Indians move to Day 3, where the schedule is very challenging for Indian doubles team.

Malaysian Masters 2017 Performances: Day 1
Indian Contingent for Malaysian Masters 2017
PV Sindhu Won Malaysian Masters 2016


    MS Ajay Jayaram def Jun Hao Leong (Malaysia) 21-10 17-21 21-14 in 49 minutes
    XD Manu Attri / Jwala Gutta def Indonesian Pair 21-19 21-18 in 30 minutes
    XD Prajakta Sawant / Yogendra (Malaysia) def Hong Kong Pair 21-14 22-20 in 28 minutes
    Top Seed Saina Nehwal def Chasinee (Thailand) 21-9 21-8 in 25 minutes
    WD Aparna Balan / Prajakta Sawant def Indonesian Pair 21-10 21-11 in 23 minutes
    MD 3rd seed Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy def Malaysian pair 15-21 21-13 21-18 in 45 minutes
    MD Arjun / Shlok Ramchandran def Malaysian pair 21-19 21-12 in 27 minutes


    WD Sruthi/Haritha lost 21-9 21-13 to Malaysian pair
    Sumeeth Reddy / Ashwini Ponnappa lost 21-17 21-17 to 6th seed Indonesian pair
    XD Satwiksairaj / Maneesha lost 21-10 21-14 to Hong Kong Pair
    MS Hemanth Gowda lost 21-5 21-19 to Chun-Wei Chen (Taipei) (Round 2)
    MD Satwiksairaj / Chirag Shetty lost 11-21 21-15 26-24 to Malaysian pair in 58 minutes
    MS Pratul Joshi lost 21-9 29-27 to 7th seed Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia) (Round 2)
    MS Harsheel Dan lost 21-15 17-21 21-13 to 16th seed Ihsan Maulana Mustofa (Indonesia) (Round 2)
    WS Sri Krishna Priya lost 21-12 23-21 to 6th seed Jin Wei Goh (Malaysia) (Round 2)
    MD Francis Alwin / Tarun Kona lost 21-14 21-18 to Indonesia pair

Day 3 Schedule for Indians

    8.30 AM XD Prajakta Sawant / Yogendra (Malaysia) vs 8th seed Indonesian pair
    10.50 AM XD Manu Attri / Jwala Gutta vs 6th seed Indonesian pair
    9.10 AM MD Arjun / Ramchandran Shlok vs Hong Kong pair
    9.50 AM Top Seed Saina Nehwal vs Hanna Ramadini (Indonesia)
    11.50 AM WD Aparna Balan / Prajakta Sawant vs 2nd seed Chinese Taipei pair
    12.10 PM MS Ajay Jayaram vs Hsueh Hsuan Yi (Taipei)
    12.10 PM MD 3rd seed Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy vs Markis Kido / Hendra Aprida (Indonesia)

Saina has defeated Hanna on both occasions they met. While in India Open 2015 it was an easy win of 21-15 21-12, in 2016 Macau Open Hanna put a tough fight in the loss of 21-23 21-14 21-18.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.