India Open 2017: From a list of 38, only 3 reach QF as Sameer Verma Shines

Indians participated in large numbers at India Open 2017. In the end, it was just numbers and the 5th Indian Open title for Indian appears in danger, as only Sameer Verma could reach the quarterfinals. Saina and Sindhu are set for a quarterfinal clash against each other, if they win their respective 2nd round matches today. But, among rest of the Indian squad except Sourabh Verma none could even pose a contest while being knocked out. Out of 37, only 10 could reach second round. 38th seed Sameer Verma who knocked out 4th seed Korean in Round 1, won his second consecutive match against 15th seed Hu Yun to seal quarterfinal spot where he may meet 8th seed Marc Zwiebler. Losses in Round 1 of PBL star HS Prannoy, Satwik/Chirag – first Indian to win at Vietnam, and 7th seed Mixed Doubles pair of Pranaav/Sikki in Round 2 were major upset for Indians.

Indian Schedule for Quarterfinals

    Sameer Verma vs Anders Antonsen (Denmark)
    Saina Nehwal vs PV Sindhu

Results of 2nd Round

    MS Sameer Verma def Yun Hu (Hong Kong) 21-17 21-15
    WS 6th seed Saina Nehwal def Chhochuwong (Thailand) 21-14 21-12
    WS 3rd seed PV Sindhu def Saena (Japan) 21-16 23-21

Knocked Out

    MS Sai Praneeth lost 21-14 21-16 vs 7th seed Tien Chen (Chinese Taipei)
    MS Srikanth Kidambi lost 21-7 21-12 vs 3rd seed Viktor Axelsen
    WD Shruti/Anoushka lost 21-5 21-10 vs 3rd seed Japanese pair
    WD Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy lost 21-15 21-10 vs 4th seed Thailand pair
    WS Rituparna Das lost 21-13 21-11 vs top seed Carolina Marin (Spain)
    XD 7th seed Pranaav Chopra / Sikki Reddy lost 21-18 21-19 vs unseeded Russian pair
    MS Sourabh Verma lost 21-19 14-21 22-20 vs 6th seed Angus (Hong Kong)

Results of 1st Round

    MS Sameer Verma def 4th seed Son Wan Ho (korea)
    MS Sai Praneeth def Kenta Nishimoto (Japan) 16-21 21-12 21-19
    MS Srikanth Kidambi def Junpeng Zhao (China)
    WD Shruti/Anoushka def Gauri/Megha 22-20 21-8
    WD Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy def Gabrielle Adcock / Jessica Pugh (England) 21-16 21-16
    WS Rituparna Das def Chiang (Taipei) 19-21 21-15 21-19
    WS 6th seed Saina def Chia Hsin Lee (Taipei) 21-10 21-17
    XD 7th seed Pranaav Chopra / Sikki Reddy def Indonesian pair 21-15 21-19
    WS 3rd seed PV Sindhu def Arundhati 21-17 21-6
    MS HS Prannoy lost 21-13 21-16 vs Sourabh Verma

Knocked Out

    WD Aparna Balan / Prajakta Sawant lost 21-12 21-19 to Chinese Taipe pair
    WD Meghana / Poorvisha S Ram lost 21-9 21-15 8th seed pair (Denmark)
    XD Venkat/Juhi lost 21-12 21-12 vs 4th seed Malaysian pair
    MD Francis Alwin/Tarun Kona lost 21-10 21-7 vs Japanese pair
    WS Reshma Karthik lost 21-9 21-8 vs Yiman Zhang (China)
    WD Sanjana Santosh / Arathi Sunil lost 21-10 21-16 6th seed (Bulgaria)
    WD Komal/Lalita lost 21-14 21-16 vs Indonesian pair
    WD Sruthi/Haritha lost 21-3 21-4 vs Japanese pair
    WD Mahima/Maneesha lost 21-9 21-8 vs 5th seed Thailand pair
    MD Satwiksairaj / Chirag lost 21-14 21-17 vs Denmark pair
    WS Rasika Raje lost 21-10 21-12 vs Saena (Japan)
    MD Anilkumar / Venkat Gaurav lost 21-9 21-13 vs 3rd seed Mathias Boe / Carsten
    WD Juhi / Saumya lost 21-9 21-16 vs Chinese Taipei pair
    MD Ketan / Tanveer lost 21-15 21-15
    WD Juhi/Saumya lost 21-3 21-6 vs Chinese Taipei pair
    WS Tanvi Lad retired 2-6 vs 7th seed Nozomi Okuhara (Japan)
    MD Jishnu/Shivam retired 0-3 vs 7th seed Danish pair
    MD Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy lost 21-19 21-19 vs Japanese pair
    XD Saurabh / Anoushka lost 21-5 21-9 vs 2nd seed Chinese pair
    WS Sai Chukka lost 21-17 21-18 vs Lyanny (Indonesia)
    MD Arjun MR / Ramchandran Shlok lost 21-8 21-14 vs Chinese Taipei pair
    WS PC Thulasi lost 21-15 21-16 vs 4th seed Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)
    WS Anura lost 21-17 21-16 vs Sayaka Sato (Japan)
    XD Dhruv Kapila / Kuhoo Garg lost 21-15 21-10 vs 3rd seed Adcock / Adcock
    MS Ajay Jayaram lost 23-21 21-17 vs 3rd seed Viktor Axellsen (Denmark)
    WD Deepali Gupta / Pragya Rai lost 21-4 21-9 vs 7th seed Japanese pair
    WS Sai Krishna Priya lost 21-11 21-13 vs 2nd seed Sung Ji Hyun (Korea)
    WS Pardeshi Shreyanshi lost 21-14 21-18 vs Linda (Bulgaria)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.