Indian Open 2017: Strong Indian Squad Hunting for 5th Title

Saina, Srikanth, Sindhu

Since its inception in 2008, Indian Open has witnessed 4 titles for Indians that include two doubles. Saina Nehwal was part of both historic achievements. In 2010 she won the Women’s Singles title with Mixed Doubles pair of Diju and Jwala Gutta, while in 2015 Kidambi accompanied her in the title race. 2016 championship saw Ratchanok winning the Women’s Singles title second time after 2013, Indian Open have seen 4 instances of multiple winners. In 2017 Indians have huge expectation in all the events being led by players who have won multiple international events in 2016 and 2017 so far. Check Day 1 schedule for Indians on March 29.

2016 Indian Open Results for Indians
Saina reached the semifinals while Sindhu reached quarters in 2016 Indian Open. None in Men’s Sinlges reached Round 2. Men’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles did not see any Indian team in Quarterfinals, while Women’s Doubles had qualifiers Sahdev/Santosh in Quarters.

Multiple Title Winners at Indian Open
Lee Chong Wei has won the Men’s Singles event thrice, while defending champion Ratchanok Intanon has won the Women’s Singles title twice.
Women’s Doubles: Miyuki Maeda and Satoko Suetsuna of Japan have won the event twice.

Indian Schedule for Day 1

    9.40 am. WD Aparna Balan / Prajakta Sawant vs CHinese Taipe pair
    9.40 am. WD Meghana / Poorvisha S Ram vs 8th seed pair (Denmark)
    10.20 am MS Sameer Verma vs 4th seed Son Wan Ho (korea)
    10.20 am MS Sai Praneeth vs Kenta Nishimoto (Japan)
    10.30 am XD Venkat/Juhi vs 4th seed Malaysian pair
    11.00 am MD Francis Alwin/Tarun Kona vs Japanese pair
    11.00 am WS Reshma Karthik vs Yiman Zhang (China)
    11.00 am WD Sanjana Santosh / Arathi Sunil vs 6th seed (Bulgaria)
    11.00 am WD Komal/Lalita vs Indonesian pair
    11.40 am WD Shruti/Anoushka vs Gauri/Megha
    11.50 am WD Sruthi/Haritha vs Japanese pair
    11.50 am. WD Mahima/Maneesha vs 5th seed Thailand pair
    12.20 am MD Satwiksairaj / Chirag vs Denmark pair
    1.40 pm WS Rasika Raje vs Saena (Japan)
    1.40 pm WD Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy vs Gabrielle Adcock / Jessica Pugh (England)
    1.40 pm MD Anilkumar / Venkat Gaurav vs 3rd seed Mathias Boe / Carsten
    2.30 p.m. WD Juhi / Saumya vs Chinese Taipei pair
    2.30 pm. MD Ketan / Tanveer
    3.00 pm. WS Tanvi Lad vs 7th seed Nozomi Okuhara (Japan)
    3.10 pm MD Jishnu/Shivam vs 7th seed Danish pair
    3.40 pm MD Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy vs Japanese pair
    3.40 pm XD Saurabh / Anoushka vs 2nd seed Chinese pair
    3.50 pm WS Rituparna Das vs Chiang (Taipei)
    4.20 pm WS 6th seed Saina vs Chia Hsin Lee (Taipei)
    4.30 pm WS Sai Chukka vs Lyanny (Indonesia)
    4.30 pm MD Arjun MR / Ramchandran Shlok vs Chinese Taipei pair
    5.00 pm WS PC Thulasi vs 4th seed Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)
    5.10 pm WS Anura vs Sayaka Sato (Japan)
    5.10 pm XD Dhruv Kapila / Kuhoo Garg vs 3rd seed Adcock / Adcock
    5.40 pm XD 7th seed Pranaav Chopra / Sikki Reddy vs Indonesian pair
    5.40 pm WS 3rd seed PV Sindhu vs Arundhati
    5.50 pm MS HS Prannoy vs Sourabh Verma
    6.20 pm Ajay Jayaram vs 3rd seed Viktor Axellsen (Denmark)
    6.20 pm WD Deepali Gupta / Pragya Rai vs 7th seed Japanese pair
    6.30 pm WS Sai Krishna Priya vs 2nd seed Sung Ji Hyun (Korea)
    7.00 pm WS Pardeshi Shreyanshi vs Linda (Bulgaria)
    7.00 pm MS Srikanth Kidambi vs Junpeng Zhao (China)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.