1982 Asian Games: Hosts India Finish 5th with Record 57 Medals

At home, as New Delhi hosted Asian Games second time after 31 years, Indian athletes provided their second best performance. Indians won highest number of medals ever but could not beat their record of 15 Gold medals won in 1951 Asian Games. 4 Gold medals were won in Equestrian and Golf, Sports that made debut in Asian Games.

Indian History at Every Asian Games: 1951, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978
Indian Medal Winners at Asian Games: 1951, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982, 2014
Indian Performance at Asian Games in Different Sports

Asian Games 1982 Statistics

    Nations: 33
    Sports: 21 (Handball, equestrian, rowing and golf made debut)
    Events: 196
    Competitors: 4595
    Winner: China
    India: 5th
    Indian Contingent:
    Medals: 626 medals (199 gold, 200 silver and 215 bronze)
    Countries Winning Medals: 23

Indians won 4 Gold, 9 Silver and 8 Bronze medals.

Indians won 5 Bronze medals to finish 5th.

Indian Men’s team finished second at Group D, winning against UAE (98-69) and North Yemen (147-34) and losing against Philippines (100-108). But in the Championship group they lost all the 7 matches to finish 8th. They lost to North Korea, Kuwait (61-73), South Korea (88-97), Malaysia (72-78), China (94-120) and Japan (74-82).

Indian Women’s Team finished last at Round robin losing all 4 matches. They lost to North Korea (59-103), China (48-125), South Korea (56-127) and Japan (40-94).

Indian pugilists won 1 Gold, 2 Silver and 3 Bronze to finish third behind South Korea and North Korea.

Indians finished on top with 3 Gold, 1 Silver and a Bronze. They made a clean sweep of Individual Eventing winning all three medals. This was the first time India achieved such a feat in any event of any Sports since 1951 Asian Games.

Participating for the first time, Indian Women’s won Gold medal while Men’s team again lost to Pakistan to settle for Silver.
Men’s Team:
Indians won all 4 matches at Group A to top the group scoring 37 goals and conceding only 1. They defeated Hong Kong (10-0), Malaysia (5-1), Bangladesh (12-0) and Oman (10-0).

Indians defeated Japan by 7-2 in semifinal, but conceded the same number of goal against Pakistan to lose another final. They lost 1-7 in final.

Men’s Squad: Syed Ali, J. M. Carvalho, Rajinder Singh Chauhan, Merwyn Fernandes, Jagdeep Singh Gill, Marcellus Gomes, Zafar Iqbal, Romeo James, Charanjit Kumar, Mir Ranjan Negi, Mohammed Shahid, Vineet Kumar Sharma, Gurmail Singh, Rajinder Singh, M. M. Somaya, Manohar Topno

Women’s Team
Indian Women won all 5 matches of Round Robin scoring 37 goals anc conceding only 1 goal to win Gold. They defeated Hong Kong 22-0, Japan 3-0, South Korea 5-1, Malaysia 4-0 and Singapore 3-0.

Women’s Squad: Fiona Albuquerque, Gangotri Bhandari, Sudha Chaudhary, Selma D’Silva, Anurita Dubey, Pritpal Kaur, Rajbir Kaur, Sharanjit Kaur, Davinder Khokhar, S. Omana Kumari, Nazleen Madraswalla, Eliza Nelson, Varsha Soni, Prem Maya Sonir, Margaret Toscano, Razia Zaidi

In Group C, India Men topped the group with 2 wins and a draw. They defeated Bangladesh (2-0) and Malaysia (1-0), then drew with China 2-2. In the knockout, they lost QF to Saudi Arabia 0-1 to finish 6th.

Indians lost all 3 matches of Group A to finish at the bottom. They lost to Japan (12-26), Kuwait (17-36) and UAE (28-33). They finished overall 8th after losing to Bahrain 16-31.

Indians won a Gold, a Silver and a Bronze to finish third.

Indians finished 6th with 2 silver and a bronze medal.

Indians won a Silver to finish 5th.

Indian Men’s team won all the three matches of Pool A but lost both matches at Championship group.
At pool, they def Bangladesh (3-0), Indonesia (3-1) and Saudi Arabia (3-1).
At Championship group, they lost to China and South Korea by 0-3 each.

Indian Women’s team lost all 5 matches to finish 6th. They could not win any set and lost 0-3 to all the teams – North Korea, Japan, China, South Korea and Philippines.

Water polo
Indians won a Bronze medal.
At Group they won against Hong Kong (14-4) and Kuwait (24-8) but lost to China (2-20) to finish 2nd. In semifinals, they lost to Japan 22-11 but won Bronze medal match against Singapore 8-7.

Squad: Hanumant Barge, Arul Charles, Ramen Das, Sanjay Karandikar, Sushil Kohli, Joseph Kuok, Mahesh Mangani, Rahul Mitra, Utpal Mitra, Prabhakaran Nair, Ramgopal Narayanan, Kanai Roy, Gyan Singh

Indians won 2 Bronze medals.

Indians won a Gold, a Silver and 2 Bronze medals to finish 4th.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.