Hong Kong Open 2016: PV Sindhu and Sameer Verma Finish Runners up

As two Indians emerged champions today at Asian Para-Badminton Championships 2016, Indians could not grab third title at Hong Kong Open Super Series as its two finalists failed to win the title. As Sindhu failed to emulate Saina and had to settle for Runners up position in her attempt to grab her eight title and second Super Series Championship, Chinese failed to win any event for the second consecutive after failing at home in the last week’s event of China Open 2016 where Sindhu grabbed her first Super Series title. Attempting to become 15th Super Series winner from India, Sameer Verma fought hard but had to settle for Runners up. With China again drawing blank, India, Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Denmark and Japan won an event each.

Prakash Padukone in 1982 and Saina Nehwal in 2010 had won Hong Kong Open titles for India.


    Sindhu lost to 4th seed TAI Tzu Ying 21-15 21-17 in 41 minutes.
    Sameer Verma lost to local boy NG Ka Long Angus 21-14 10-21 21-11 in 50 minutes.

Other Results of Hong Kong Open 2016 Finals:

    Mixed Doubles Winner: 7th seed Tontowi Ahmad / Liliyana Natsir (Indonesia) def 2nd seed Indonesian pair 21-19 21-17
    Women’s Doubles Winner: 3rd seed Kamilla Rytter Juhl / Christinna Pedersen (Denmark) def Chinese pair 21-19 21-10
    Men’s Doubles Winner: Takeshi Kamura / Keigo Sonoda (Japan) def Mathias Boe / Carsten Morgensen (Denmark) 21-19 21-19

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.