2018 Badminton World Championships: With 6 Singles Players and 12 Doubles Team, India Chase 1st Gold

Indians are placed 12th in the Badminton World Championship medal tally with 7 medals. But, they still seek a Gold after winning 2 Silver and 5 Bronze medals, including their first two medal performance in 2017. 2018 Badminton World Championships, the 24th edition, is hosted at Nanjing, China from 30 July to 5 August. 6 Singles players and 12 Doubles team represent India. Check the team and schedule.

Indians Create Record in 2017 World Championship
Indian Participants and Medal Winners at Badminton World Championships
BWF World Championships Past Winners: Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles

Indian Squad

    Men’s Singles: Srikanth Kidambi, HS Prannoy, Sameer Verma, Sai Praneeth B
    Women’s Singles: PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal
    Men’s Doubles: Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy, Satwiksairaj Rankiredyy / Chirag Shetty, Tarun Kona / Saurabh Sharma, Arjun MR / Ramchandran Shlok
    Women’s Doubles: Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy, Sanyogita Ghorpade / Prajakta Sawant, Kuhoo Garg / Ningshi Block Hazarika, Meghna Jakkampudi / Poorvisha S Ram
    Mixed Doubles: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Ashwini Ponnappa, Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Sikki Reddy, Saurabh Shah / Anoushka Parikh, Rohan Kapoor / Kuhoo Garg

Indian Schedule (In IST)
July 30 Round 1

    7.30 a.m. Sanyogita Ghorpade / Prajakta Sawant vs Turkey pair
    7.30 a.m. Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy vs Bulgaria pair
    11.30 a.m. 11th seed HS Prannoy vs Abhinav Manota (New Zealand)
    12.30 a.m. Sameer Verma vs Lucas (France)
    12.30 a.m. Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Sikki Reddy vs Czech Republic pair
    2.10 p.m. Saurabh Shah / Anoushka Parikh vs Nigeria pair
    3.50 p.m. Rohan Kapoor / Kuhoo Garg vs Canada pair
    2.30 p.m. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Ashwini Ponnappa vs Niclas / Sara (Denmark)

July 31

    8.10 a.m. Tarun Kona / Saurabh Sharma vs Hong Kong pair
    8.10 a.m. 5th seed Srikanth Kidambi vs Nhat (Ireland)
    9.10 a.m. Arjun MR / Ramchandran Shlok vs Malaysian pair
    11.30 a.m. 10th seed Saina Nehwal vs Aliye (Turkey)
    11.40 a.m. Meghna Jakkampudi / Poorvisha S Ram vs Netherlands pair
    3.00 p.m. Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy vs Chinese Taipei pair
    3.40 p.m. Satwiksairaj Rankiredyy / Chirag Shetty vs England pair
    3.50 p.m. Sai Praneeth B vs 4th seed Son Wan Ho (Korea) – Sai moves to Round 2 with Walkover
    4.30 p.m. Kuhoo Garg / Ningshi Block Hazarika vs Chinese Taipei pair
    3rd seed PV Sindhu vs TBD

Aug 1 Round 2
Sai Praneeth B vs Luis Enrique (Spain)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.