2018 Asian Games: Day 1 Schedule and Results for India

Medal events for India on Day 1

2018 Asian Games Day 1, August 19 will have 21 medal events in contention apart from multiple other events. on Day 1, five Indian Men Wrestlers and two Indian Shooting Mixed teams are competing for medals. Check India’s complete schedule and results of Day 1 (August 19) at 2018 Asian Games. In Shooting, pairs of Manu Bhaker / Abhishek Verma and Apurvi Chandela / Ravi Kumar will participate in medal events. In Wrestling, Sushil Kumar, Bajrang Punia, Sandeep Tomar, Mausam Khatri and Pawan Kumar will participate in medal events. Shreyasi Singh, Seema Tomar, Manavjit Singh Sandhu and Lakshay will participate in Qualification round 1 for Men and Women Trap events of Shooting.

Indian History at Every Asian Games: 1951, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982
Indian Medal Winners at Asian Games: 1951, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 2014
Indian Performance at Asian Games in Different Sports

Medal Events of Day 1 For India
10m Air Rifle Mixed Team: Apurvi Chandela and Ravi Kumar won Bronze

    Qualification: 8.00 a.m. IST – Finished 2nd
    Final: 12 o’clock

10m Air Pistol Mixed Team: Manu Bhaker and Abhishek Verma

    Qualification: 10.00 a.m. IST –
    Finished 6th with 759 points, failed to qualify for final


    Men’s Freestyle 65 kg – Bajrang Punia in Final
    To face Japan’s Takatani Daichi in Men’s Freestyle 65 kg final. He won semifinal by 10-0 over Mongolia’s Batmagnai Batchuluun.
    Men’s Freestyle 86 kg Bronze Medal match – Pawan Kumar Lost

      Pawan Kumar loses 0-11 to Hassan Yazdanicharati. Pawan Kumar defeated Heng Vuthy from Cambodia 8-0 in the 1/8 Finals
      Pawan Kumar stays in contention for bronze as he beats Indonesia’s Fahriansayah 11-0 in his first repechage bout. He will play Mongolian Orgodol for Bronze medal match.

    Men’s Freestyle 74 Kg – Sushil Kumar
    Qualification: 11.40 p.m.vs Adam Batirov (Bahrain) – lost
    Men’s Freestyle 57 Kg – Sandeep Tomar – lost in QF
    1/8 Finals: 1.25 p.m. vs Rustem Nazarov (Turkmenistan)
    Men’s Freestyle 97 kg Quarterfinals: Mausam Khatri loses 0-8 to Ibragimov Magomed from Uzbekistan


    Men’s 200m BUtterfly – Final at 6.37 p.m. IST FINISHED 5th with time 1:57.75
    Sajan Kumar qualifies for finals with 3rd best timing, to compete for medal today at 6.37 p.m. IST
    Men’s Swimming 200m Backstroke – Final at 4.55 p.m. IST – Finished 7th with a timing of 56.19.
    Srihari Nataraj enters final. He will swim for the medal today at 4.55 p.m. IST. Arvind Mani finished second in the heat but failed to qualify.

Qualification Events
Badminton Round of 16 Men’s team: India def Maldives 3-0
Women’s Basketball 5×5 Preliminary match: India lost to Chinese Taipei 61-84
7.00 pm: Women’s Hockey Preliminary match: India def Indonesia 8-0
Scorers: Udita, Vandana Katariya 2, Gurjit Kaur 3 (PC), Lalremsiami, Navneet Kaur
Women’s Handball Preliminary match: India lost 21-36 to China

    Women’s Preliminary match: India def Japan 43-12
    Men’s Team: India def Bangladesh 50-21 in the Group A match
    5.30 pm: Men’s Kabaddi Preliminary match: India def Sri Lanka 44-28


    Men’s Epee Individual
    Women’s Sabre Individual

Taekwondo: Women Team Poomsae Round of 16: India lost to Thailand
Tennis: Mixed Doubles (Round of 32 matches):
Karman Kaur Thandi and Divij Sharan defeat Alberto Jr Lim and Marian Jade Capadocia 6-4, 6-4 in 81 minutes in the Round of 32
Swimming: Heats for Men’s 200m Freestyle, Men’s 200m Butterfly, Men’s 100m Backstroke, Women’s 1500m Freestyle, Women’s 100m Breaststroke, Women’s 200m Backstroke, Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay

    1. Rowing Men’s Pair: Malkeet Singh/Gurinder Singh in final.
    2. Women’s Skull: Pooja and Sayali enter final.
    3. Men’s Double Sculls: Om Prakash and Sawarn Singh enter finals.
    4. Women’s Pair rowing: Sanjukta Dung/Harpreet Kaur enter repechage round. They finished 5th at Heat.
    5. Dattu Baban Bhokanal enters repechage round in Men’s Single Sculls. He finished second in Heat 1.

Sepaktakraw: Men’s and Women’s Team Regu Preliminary matches: Indian Women lost 0-3 Vs Korea
Trap Women Qualification: 7.00 a.m. IST

    Squad 1: Shreyasi Singh
    Squad 3: Seema Tomar

Trap Men Qualification: 8.00 a.m. IST

    Squad 7: Manavjit Singh Sandhu
    Squad 10: Lakshay

Volleyball: Women’s Preliminary matches – India lost 0-3 to Korea

    Men’s Changquan Suraj Singh Mayanglambam – 10th with 9.51 points
    Women’s Sanda 52 Kg Round of 16 : Yumnam Sanatho Devi lost 0-2 vs Elaheh (Iran)
    Men’s Sanda -56kg Round of 32 Santosh Kumar def Linn (Myanmar) 2-0
    Women’s Sanda 70 Kg Round of 16: Pardeep Kumar def Khurshedzoda (Tajikistan) 2-0
    Women’s Tajiquan & All-Round – Sanatombi Chanu Lemapokpam – 14th

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.