Match 9 Review: Can Gilchrist Break Super Kings Dominance Over Kings XI!

Chennai Super Kings have a strangehold over Kings XI in the last 3 IPL editions. In the 7 matches played between them, CSK has lost just one match, even that in the Super OVer, after the match ended in a tie. Can Gilchrist magic save his team against Super Kings in 2011!!

They have met 7 times, including the semifinals of 2008. Except the Super Over win in 2010, Kings XI has failed to avoid loss in other 6 games making them an easy prey.

2011 Performance
Defending Champion defeated the strong Kolkata Knight Riders in a tense match, while Kings XI lost the one-sided match against debutant Pune Warriors India, which is ironically having their ex-captain Yuvraj Singh at helm.

Head-to-Head: CSK 6, KXIP 1

    CSK def Kings XI Punjab by 33 Runs
    CSK def Kings XI Punjab by 18 Runs
    CSK def Kings XI Punjab by 9 Wickets


    CSK def Kings XI Punjab by 12 Runs
    CSK def Kings XI Punjab by 24 Runs


    KXIP def CSK in Super Over (After tie)
    CSK def Kings XI Punjab by 6 Wickets

2008 Peformances
In 2008, Kings XI had a dream season reching the semifinal. They won 10 and lost 5, three of the losses came against CSK.
CSK won 9 matches and lost 7 to came closest to the crown by reaching the final, but the western wind of Rajasthan Royals blew them off.

2009 Performances
The absence of Shaun Marsh and other key players affected the performance and they won and lost 7 matches each.
With 8 wins, 6 losses and 1 abandoned match, they failed to cross beyond semifinal, where Royal Challengers Bangalore knocked them out.

2010 Performances
The disturbances within let them down as they registered only 4 wins and lost 10 matches.
After twice reaching the knockout stage, CSK finally won the tournament with 9 wins and 7 losses. They defeated Mumbai Indians in the final.

Overall Performances in IPL
With 21 wins and 22 losses, Kings XI have an impressive portfolio. They have also reached one semifinal and won the Kingfisher Fairplay Award in 2009.
CSK has the best portfolio with 26 wins, 20 losses and 1 No result. They have reached knock out stage in all the three editions.

Will CSK Win Again!!
Considering the history and the 2011 first-match performance, if CSK does not win, it will be one of the biggest upset of IPL. While CSK has stuck to same captain, Dhoni, since its inception, Kings XI is playing under third captain in 4th edition. Yuvraj and Sangakkara failed to break CSK’s strangehold, the champion captain Gilchrist also may find it almost impossible, considering their heavy loss in the first match of 2011 against Pune Warrios India, while CSK is booming with confidence after the close win against KKR in their first match.

Deciding Battles
Gilchrist vs CSK Bowlers
Gilchrist as captain can not do much with his team composition and can only motivate. But as a batsman, unless he hangs his gloves, he remains one of the most dangerous batsmen to bowl against. If he gets going, CSK would be in for a tough fight. He is the only hope when Kings XI bats.

Anirudha, Raina and Dhoni vs Kings XI bowlers
CSK may be the only team at present to have heavily been supported by Indian batsmen only. Albie MOrkel and Styris can bat quick but it is the trio of Anirudha, Raina and Dhoni who will test the bowling skills of Kings XI bowlers. If the bowlers can manage to get these three, Kings XI stand the rare chance of victory against much superior Super Kings.

CSK Squad
Batsmen: Dhoni (Captain), Faf du Plessis, Michael Hussey, Srikkanth Anirudha, Subramaniam Badrinath, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Murali Vijay
Allrounders: Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Scott Styris, Suresh Raina, Yo Mahesh
Bowlers: Tim Southee, Doug Bollinger, Ben Hilfenhaus, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, George Bailey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Abhinav Mukund, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh

Kings XI Punjab Squad
Batsman: Adam Gilchrist (Captain/Keeper), Shaun Marsh, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Vikramjeet Malik, Nitin Saini
Allrounders: David Hussey, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Mandeep Singh
Bowlers: Stuart Broad, Ryan Harris, Ryan McLaren, Nathan Rimmington, Love Ablish, Praveen Kumar, Amit Yadav, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Siddharth Chitnis, Paras Dogra, Shalabh Srivastava, Sunny Singh, Paul Valthaty

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.