India vs Belgium Men’s Hockey Record

Belgium Started Olympics journey in 1920 while Indians started in 1924. Belgium is making 6th appearance in Men’s Hockey World Cup having first played in 1973. 5th rank in 2014 Hockey World Cup is their best finish. Since 2013, Belgium, also known as The Red Lions have dominated India winning 13 losing 5 and drawing just one game. Overall, in 31 matches played till 2018 Hockey World Cup, Indians have won 13, lost 14 and drew 4. Check their head to head record at major events.

History of Belgium Men’s Hockey
2018 Men’s Hockey World Cup: Fixture and Results

Men’s Hockey World Cup

    1978: Def Belgium 1-0
    1994: Def Belgium 4-2
    2014: Lost to Belgium 3-2
    2018: Drew 2-2

World League: Won 1, Lost 1

    2014-15 SF Lost to Belgium 4-0
    2016-17 QF Def Belgium 3-3 (3-2)

Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy: Won 2, Lost 1, drew 1

    2018 Drew Belgium 1-1
    2016 Lost to Belgium 2-1
    2014 QF def Belgium 4-2
    2012 QF def Belgium 1-0

Champions Challenge: Won 2, Lost 1, drew 1

    2001 Def Belgium 1-0
    2007 def Belgium 4-1
    2011 Drew Belgium 3-3
    2011 Final Lost to Belgium 4-3

Olympics: Won 3, Lost 2

    1928: Def Belgium 9-0 (Feroze Khan scored 5 goals)
    1964: Def Belgium 2-0
    1968: Def Belgium 2-1
    2012: Lost to Belgium 3-0
    2016: QF Lost to Belgium 3-1

Belgium Squad

    Head Coach: Shane McLeod
    Captain: Thomas Briels
    Goalkeepers: Loic Van Doren and Vincent Vanasch
    Forwards: Florent van Aubel, Sébastien Dockier, Cédric Charlier, Nicolas De Kerpel, Thomas Briels, Tom Boon
    Midfielder: John-John Dohmen, Félix Denayer, Simon Gougnard, Victor Wegnez
    Defenders: Arthur Van Doren, Gauthier Boccard, Emmanuel Stockbroekx, Alexander Hendrickx, Arthur De Sloover, Loïck Luypaert

Indian Squad

    Head Coach: Harendra Singh
    Captain: Manpreet Singh
    Goalkeeeer: P. R. Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak
    Forwards: Dilpreet Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh
    Defender: Harmanpreet Singh, Kothajit Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas
    Midfielder: Manpreet Singh, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Chinglensana Kangujam

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.