IPL 2014: CSK Has Dominated MI In Last 4 Playoff Matches

Chennai Super Kings playing Mumbai Indians for the playoff at Mumbai is the fifth instance in IPL history when both have met during Playoffs. The top two teams of IPL has met last year also, twice. Overall CSK has the edge in winning the qualifiers. They have already defeated Mumbai Indians once in the Eliminator. With MI vs CSK Playoff in 2014, check what happened when they met for the last four Playoff matches.

IPL 2014: Schedule and Results

History of Playoffs between CSK and MI
Both teams are equally strong, have the best two overall records in IPL but Playoff is the only part of IPL where CSK has huge edge over MI. CSK has reached all the 6 semifinals, 5 finals and won 2 of them. MI has reached their 5th consecutive Playoffs, reached two finals too and the defending champions.

    In 2010, CSK defeated MI by 22 runs in the final at Wankhede.
    In 2012, CSK eliminated MI by 38 runs in the Eliminator.
    In 2013, Qualifier: CSK def MI by 48 runs, MOM: Michael Hussey
    2013 Final: MI def CSK by 23 runs, MOM: Pollard

2010 Eliminator: CSK def MI by 38 runs
Sent to bat first CSK scored huge 187/5 at Chennai. Surprise pick Dhawal Kulkarni had 3/46, Pollard had 1/26 and Franklin 1/12. Harbhajan bowled a maiden and had 0/20 in 3 overs. But Malinga (0/41) and RP Singh 0/34) were taken to cleaners first by Hussey (39-ball 49 runs), Badrinath (39-ball 47 runs). Then unbeaten Dhoni (20-ball 51 runs) and Bravo (14–ball 33 runs) slaughtered the MI attack in the last 5 overs where they added unbeaten 73 runs.

In response MI folded to 149/9. For CSK Hilfenhaus (1/45) went for runs. But Jakati (1/25), Ashwin (1/18), Jadeja (1/15), Morkel (2/31) and Bravo (2/10) folded the MI batting. Dhoni was declared Player of
the match.

2012 Final: CSK def MI by 22 runs
CSK scored 168/5 after electing to bat with unbeaten 57 run by Raina. MI was folded on 146/9 despite Tendulkar’s 48 runs. Raina (1/21) was declared Player of the Match.

2013 Qualifier: CSK won by 48 runs
In the Qualifier 1, CSK scored 192/1. Murali Vijay could score only 23 runs. But opener Michael Hussey (58-ball 86 runs) and No. 3 Raina (42-ball 82 runs) ensured mammoth score.
Dwayn Bravo (3/9) and Jadeja (3/31) ensured an easy win as MI was all out on 144 runs.

2013 Final: MI won by 23 runs
MI batsmen were again almost bowled out as they scored 148/9. Pollard’s 32-ballls 60 runs and Rayudu’s 36-ball 37 run helped them defy 4/42 by Dwayn Bravo and 2/12 by Albie Morkel to reach a decent total.

In response, MI bowlers learnt from the errors of Qualifier and bundled CSK to 125/9 with Dhoni (45-ball 63* runs) scoring more than 50% of their total as MI won the final in their second attempt.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.